COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Hüsker Dü Zen Arcade

Rolling Stone: Ranked #33 in Rolling Stone's 100 Best Albums Of The '80s survey.
Zen Arcade
Get email alerts for Hüsker Dü
96 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JVJS
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 14, 1987
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Sst Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/89
Ranked #33 in Rolling Stone's 100 Best Albums Of The '80s survey.
"...explodes the established boundaries of the hardcore genre..."
Q - 1/96, p.152
4 Stars - Excellent - "...the sound is rough...[but] most of ZEN ARCADE is genuinely of the great American punk albums..."
Alternative Press - p.108
"Twice as fast and twice as wide as their peers' best work, ZEN ARCADE cracked the genre's sonic palette open."
Vibe - 12/99, p.164
Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/03, p.76
Ranked #11 in Mojo's "Top 50 Punk Albums" - "...Raging with metallic distress and great songs..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/01, pp.114-5
"...Plausibly captures the sound of a heart breaking, such is the ferocity of the performances. Songwriters Grant Hart and Bob Mould push each other to the extremes of evisceration..."


  • 1.Something I Learned Today
  • 2.Broken Home, Broken Heart
  • 3.Never Talking to You Again
  • 4.Chartered Trips
  • 5.Dreams Reoccurring
  • 6.Indecision Time
  • 7.Hare Krsna
  • 8.Beyond the Threshold
  • 9.Pride
  • 10.I'll Never Forget You
  • 11.The Biggest Lie
  • 12.What's Going On
  • 13.Masochism World
  • 14.Standing by the Sea
  • 15.Somewhere
  • 16.One Step at a Time
  • 17.Pink Turns to Blue
  • 18.Newest Industry
  • 19.Monday Will Never Be the Same
  • 20.Whatever
  • 21.The Tooth Fairy and the Princess
  • 22.Turn on the News
  • 23.Reoccurring Dreams

Product Description:

Husker Du: Bob Mould (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, piano, bass, percussion); Grant Hart (vocals, piano, drums, percussion); Greg Norton (bass, background vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Dez, Spot (vocals).
Recorded at Total Access, Redondo Beach, California in October 1983.
Personnel: Bob Mould (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, percussion, background vocals); Grant Hart (vocals, piano, drums, percussion, background vocals); Greg Norton (background vocals).
Recording information: total Access, Redondo Beach, CA (10/1983).
Husker Du really hit their stride on this sprawling 1984 release. ZEN ARCADE established the band as one of the leading lights on the American indie scene. The 23 songs are loosely linked to a narrative structure about a young man who leaves home, only to discover the world to be as oppressive and full of hypocrisy as home life had been. The songs show a marked increase in variety.
Along with classic Mould scream-fests ("The Biggest Lie," "Chartered Trips"), there are goosebump-inducing mini-anthems ("Whatever," "Newest Industry"), songs of eerie beauty (Hart's bewitching ode to a dead friend, "Pink Turns to Blue") and over-the-top feedback-drenched experiments like the 14-minute instrumental closer "Reoccurring Dreams." With this album, the dichotomy between Mould and Hart became clearly defined. Mould's songs are built around his explosive growl, while Hart emerges as the "poppier" one on the acoustic "Never Talking to You Again" and "Turn on the News," one of Hnsker's finest moments ever.

Product Info

  • UPC: 018861002729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)