Gene Krupa The Gene Krupa Story [Box Set] (4-CD)

The Gene Krupa Story [Box Set] (4-CD)
Get email alerts for Gene Krupa
3 ratings
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  XJ64
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: December 1, 1998
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Hope Gabriel Likes My Music
  • 2.Swing Is Here
  • 3.Grandfather's Clock
  • 4.I Know That You Know
  • 5.Fare Thee Well, Annie Laurie
  • 6.Wire Brush Stomp
  • 7.Rhythm Jazz
  • 8.Nagasaki
  • 9.Tutti-Frutti
  • 10.Jeepers Creepers
  • 11.Murdy Purdy
  • 12.Apurksody
  • 13.Do You Wanna Jump, Children?
  • 14.Quiet and Roll 'Em
  • 15.The Madam Swings It
  • 16.Jungle Madness
  • 17.Old Black Joe
  • 18.Sweetheart, Honey, Darlin' Dear
  • 19.Symphony in Riffs
  • 20.Drummin' Man
  • 21.Blue Rhythm Fantasy
  • 22.Boog It
  • 23.Tuxedo Junction
  • 24.No Name Jive
  • 25.The Sergeant Was Shy
  • 26.Who?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Babe Takes a Bow
  • 2.Rhumboogie
  • 3.I Hear Music
  • 4.How 'Bout That Mess?
  • 5.Full Dress Hop
  • 6.Sweet Georgie Brown
  • 7.Deep in the Blues
  • 8.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 9.Drum Boogie
  • 10.Georgia on My Mind
  • 11.Just a Little Bit South of North Carolina
  • 12.Slow Down
  • 13.Green Eyes
  • 14.Let Me off Uptown
  • 15.Kick It
  • 16.After You've Gone
  • 17.Rockin' Chair
  • 18.Stop! The Red Light's On
  • 19.The Walls Keep Talking
  • 20.Skylark
  • 21.Bolero at the Savoy
  • 22.Thanks for the Boogie Ride
  • 23.Pass the Bounce
  • 24.Ball of Fire
  • 25.That's What You Think

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Knock Me a Kiss
  • 2.That Drummer's Band
  • 3.Massachusetts
  • 4.Murder, He Says
  • 5.Leave Us Leap
  • 6.What's This?
  • 7.Dark Eyes
  • 8.Body and Soul
  • 9.Stompin' at the Savoy
  • 10.Opus One
  • 11.(Did You Ever Get) That Feeling in the Moonlight
  • 12.Boogie Blues
  • 13.Chickery Chick
  • 14.In the Middle of May
  • 15.Lover
  • 16.Tea for Two
  • 17.Harriet
  • 18.How High the Moon
  • 19.There Is No Breeze (To Cool the Flame of Love)
  • 20.Disc Jockey Jump
  • 21.Gene's Boogie
  • 22.Star Burst
  • 23.I Should Have Kept on Dreaming
  • 24.Calling Dr. Gillespie
  • 25.Up An' Atom

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Blue Moon
  • 2.Leave Us Leap
  • 3.Moontide
  • 4.(Back Home Again In) Indiana
  • 5.Begin the Beguine
  • 6.Me Ideal
  • 7.Calling Dr. Gillespie
  • 8.Love Is in My Heart
  • 9.Wire Brush Stomp
  • 10.I'll Never Be the Same
  • 11.Blue Lou
  • 12.The Man I Love
  • 13.Birdhouse
  • 14.10 Ritchie Drive
  • 15.It's Up to You
  • 16.(Otto Make That) Riff Staccato
  • 17.Nobody's Sweetheart
  • 18.Lyonaise Potatoes and Some Pork Chops
  • 19.In the Moon Mist
  • 20.Margie
  • 21.Night and Day
  • 22.By the River Sainte Marie
  • 23.All by Myself

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Gene Krupa (drums); Anita O'Day, Dave Lambert, Leo Watson, Jerry Kruger, Irene Daye, Buddy Stewart, Carolyn Gray (vocals); Vido Musso, Chu Berry, Charlie Ventura (saxophone); Red Rodney, Roy Eldridge, Don Fagerquist, Al Porcino, Shorty Sherock (trumpet); Urbie Green, John Grassi (trombone); Benny Goodman (clarinet); Jess Stacy, Teddy Napoleon, Milt Raskin (piano).
Recorded in February 1936 through March 1947. Includes liner notes by Joop Visser.
Digitally remastered by Peter Rynston (Tall Order Mastering).
Personnel: Gene Krupa (drums); Irene Daye, Jerry Kruger, Leo Watson, Anita O'Day (vocals); Frank Worrell, Hy White, Bob Lesher, Ed Yance, Teddy Walters, Allan Reuss, Ray Biondi (guitar); Jerome Reisler, Jacob Shulman, Victor Pariente, Ted Blume (violin); George Grossman, Paul Powell (viola); Julius Ehrenwerth (cello); Murray Williams (clarinet, alto saxophone); Benny Goodman (clarinet); Musky Ruffo, Bob Snyder, Clint Neagley, Harry Terrill, Francis Antonelli, Mascagni Ruffo, George Siravo, Lenny Hambro, Adrian Tei, Rex Kittig, Bill Hitz, Johnny Bothwell, Sam Marowitz, Charlie Kennedy (alto saxophone); Chu Berry, Buddy Wise, Walter Bates, Andy Pino, Carl Biesacker, Don Brassfield, Joe Megro, Sam Donahue, Sam Musiker, Vido Musso, Charlie Ventura (tenor saxophone); Jack Schwartz, Sid Brown, Stuart Olson (baritone saxophone); Nate Kazebier, Graham Young, Tony Russo, Tony Anelli, Tom Dicarlo, Ed Shedowski, Torg Halten, Don Fagerquist, Dave Schultze, Gordon Boswell, Joe Triscari, Tom Gonsoulin, Charles Frankhauser, Jack Muntz, Vince Hughes, Ray Cameron, Pinky Savitt, Buddy Colaneri, Norman Murphy, Al Beck, Corky Cornelius, Al Porcino, Ray Triscari, Red Rodney, Roy Eldridge, Shorty Sherock (trumpet); Bob Fitzpatrick, Dick Taylor , Tasso Harris, Ben Seaman, Pat Virgadamo, Clay Hervery, Al Jordan, Nick Gaglio, Tony Tyler, Floyd O'Brien, John Grassi, Randy Bellerjean, Jack Zimmerman, Sid Brantley, Bill Culley, Andy Parker, Charles McCamish, Leon Cox, Bruce Squires, Jay Kelliher, Bob Ascher, Al Sherman, Babe Wagner, Urbie Green, Warren Covington, Tommy Pederson (trombone); Joe Springer , Buddy Neil, Jess Stacy, Milt Raskin, Teddy Napoleon (piano); Joe Dale, Louis Zito (drums).
Arrangers: Duke Ellington; Fred Norman; Gene Krupa; George Williams ; Gerry Mulligan; Elton Hill; Jimmy Mundy; Sam Donahue; Ray Biondi; Budd Johnson; Chappie Willett.
The Gene Krupa Story is a four-CD box set anthology containing 98 tracks with a 32-page booklet. The focus is on Krupa's role as a bandleader from the late '30s through the '50s of various size ensembles that included Anita O'Day, Roy Eldridge, and Irene Daye, to name a few. The mid-price makes this Empire package attractive. ~ Al Campbell

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,210
  • UPC: 604988990126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.41/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)