Black Power: Music of a Revolution (2-CD)
by Various Artists

Black Power: Music of a Revolution (2-CD)
8 ratings
Price: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  9CG3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 1, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Shout Factory

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Black Panther Party Calls For, The - Huey Newton
  • 2.You're The Man (Part 1) - Marvin Gaye
  • 3.Let's Clean Up The Ghetto - The Philadelphia International All Stars
  • 4.Change It - Kathleen Cleaver
  • 5.Song To The System - Segments Of Time
  • 6.Right On - Sons Of Slum
  • 7.Tell It Like It Is - S.O.U.L.
  • 8.Mighty Mighty - Earth, Wind & Fire
  • 9.Compared To What - Les McCann & Eddie Harris
  • 10.I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To - Soul Children
  • 11.Power To The People - Huey Newton
  • 12.(For God's Sake) Give More Power To The People - The Chi-Lites
  • 13.Give The People The Power They Want - The O'Jays
  • 14.We Want Black Power - Stokely Carmichael
  • 15.I'm Black And I'm Power - James Brown
  • 16.Blackenized - Hank Ballard
  • 17.So Much Strength - Stokely Carmichael
  • 18.Fight The Power Part 1 - The Isley Brothers
  • 19.Stop Singing And Start Swinging - Malcolm X

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Standing & Fighting - Malcolm X
  • 2.Message From A Black Man - The Temptations
  • 3.Part E, S - The Watts Prophets
  • 4.Violence Is As American As Cherry Pie - H. Rap Brown
  • 5.Revolution Will Not Be Televised, The - Gil Scott-Heron
  • 6.When The Revolution Comes - The Last Poets
  • 7.Am I Black Enough For You - Billy Paul
  • 8.Black Unity - Stokely Carmichael
  • 9.My People...Hold On - Eddie Kendricks
  • 10.Be Thankful For What You Got - William DeVaughn
  • 11.Chocolate City - Parliament
  • 12.We're A Winner - Curtis Mayfield
  • 13.We Got More Soul - Dyke & The Blazers
  • 14.I Am Somebody Part II - Johnnie Taylor
  • 15.Express Yourself - Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band
  • 16.Respect Yourself - The Staple Singers
  • 17.To Be Young, Gifted and Black - Nina Simone
  • 18.Lift Ev'ry Voice And Sing - Kim Weston
  • 19.Ain't No Stoppin' Us Now - McFadden & Whitehead

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Gerald Early.
Black Power: Music of a Revolution is a solid collection of soul and funk interspersed with choice spoken word excerpts from the civil rights and black power struggles of the 1960s, beginning with the voice of Huey Newton articulating the demands of the Black Panther Party, which opens onto both parts of Marvin Gaye's astonishing "You're the Man." And we're off. Along with well-known acts such as the Isley Brothers, Gil Scott-Heron, the O'Jays, Parliament, Curtis Mayfield, Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band, Nina Simone, Hank Ballard, the Staple Singers, and James Brown are lesser-known yet necessary performers like the Soul Children, Dyke & the Blazers, and the Philadelphia International All Stars. Interspersed between the musical tracks are revolutionary exhortations by Stokely Carmichael, Kathleen Cleaver, Malcolm X, and Newton. The surprises are additions by Johnnie Taylor, McFadden & Whitehead, Kim Weston, and Billy Paul. But the omissions are glaring: Sly & the Family Stone are nowhere present; neither is Stevie Wonder, or Isaac Hayes. In addition, there is no jazz on this set. Why on earth were Archie Shepp and Sun Ra left off this collection? Why was poet Amiri Baraka (cited in the notes as the major force he was/is) not included? Gerald Early's liners are interesting, but they also belie his musical prejudice in claiming that the jazz vanguard of the 1960s was "...where atonality was clumsily married to bouts of intense, at times almost sentimental, lyricism." Wow, for a second he reads like Stanley Crouch or Wynton pontificating to Ken Burns. Ultimately, Black Power: Music of a Revolution is a sloppy mess to be sure, but a curious and engaging one at times. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,602
  • UPC: 826663739824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)