COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Anson Funderburgh The Best of Anson Funderburgh: Blast Off

Get email alerts for Anson Funderburgh
4 ratings
Price: $10.90
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36K7C
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 20, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - p.60
"Funderburgh and Myers share an appreciation for economical phrasing, Funderburgh is notable for his smart, restrained Texas guitar work, and Myers is a singer and harmonica player with an innate sense of understatement."


  • 1.Tell Me What Have I Done Wrong?
  • 2.A Man Needs His Loving
  • 3.Come On
  • 4.Rambling Woman
  • 5.Tomorrow Will Find Me the Same Way
  • 6.I'm Your Professor
  • 7.$100 Bill
  • 8.Hard-Hearted Woman
  • 9.The Blues Seem to Follow Me
  • 10.Change in My Pocket
  • 11.Down at JJ's
  • 12.Oh-Oh
  • 13.Can We Get Together
  • 14.I Done Quit Getting Sloppy Drunk
  • 15.My Heart Cries out for You
  • 16.Mudslide
  • 17.Changing Neighborhoods

Product Description:

Personnel: Anson Funderburgh (guitar, 6-string bass); Darrell Nulisch, Sam Myers (vocals, harmonica); Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Grady Gaines, Ernest Youngblood, Jr., Jerry Lee Smith (tenor saxophone); John H.R. Mills, Johnny Reno (baritone saxophone); Keith Winking, John Selzer, Gary Slechta (trumpet); John Street, Doug Rynack, Gentleman John Street, Kevin McKendree, Matt McCabe (piano); Bruce Elsensohn (organ); Jeff Sarli (upright bass); Wes Starr (drums, percussion); Danny Cochran, Marc Wilson (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Randy Perry .
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Since their debut album for Black Top Records in 1981, Anson Funderburgh & the Rockets have been turning out their own brand of meat and potatoes blues with just a touch of hard Texas swing in the stew. This set collects key tracks from the group's seven albums for Black Top, along with tracks from their pair of albums for Rounder's Bullseye Blues imprint, to make an introductory overview of Funderburgh's career that spans the years 1981 to 2003. Nothing here is particularly innovative, but that isn't what Funderburgh is after, and thanks to Sam Myers' sturdy, everyman vocals and occasional Chicago-styled (by way of Mississippi) harmonica lines, not to mention Funderburgh's concise, slashing guitar style, what emerges is a pure Texas blues band, and no more or less. Among the highlights are the blues swing of "A Man Needs His Loving," a ragged take on Buddy Guy's "$100 Bill," a Funderburgh original, "Change in My Pocket," the relentless "Oh-Oh," and Funderburgh's angular guitar riff on "Mudslide." No-frills contemporary Texas blues with the fringe removed. ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,165
  • UPC: 826663100600
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19