Kenny Dorham Afro-Cuban [RVG Bonus Track]

Get email alerts for Kenny Dorham
14 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  XQ23
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 10, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Afrodisia
  • 2.Lotus Flower
  • 3.Minor's Holiday
  • 4.Basheer's Dream
  • 5.K.D.'s Motion
  • 6.La Villa
  • 7.Venita's Dance
  • 8.Echo Of Spring - (aka K.D.'s Cab Ride)
  • 9.Minor's Holiday - (alternate take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Kenny Dorham (trumpet); Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Cecil Payne (baritone saxophone); Jay Jay Johnson (trombone); Horace Silver (piano); Oscar Pettiford, Percy Heath (bass); Art Blakey (drums); Carlos "Potato" Valdes (congas).
Producer: Alfred Lion.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey on January 30 and March 29, 1955. Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather and Michael Cuscuna.
Personnel: Kenny Dorham (trumpet); Kenny Dorham; Oscar Pettiford, Percy Heath (bass guitar); Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); Cecil Payne (baritone saxophone); J.J. Johnson (trombone); Horace Silver (piano); Art Blakey (drums); Carlos "Patato" Valdes (congas); Richie Goldberg (cowbells).
Audio Remasterer: Rudy Van Gelder.
Liner Note Authors: Francis Wolff; Leonard Feather; Bob Blumenthal.
Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Hackensack, NJ (03/29/1955/01/30/1955).
The late Kenny Dorham was a fairly unique figure in jazz, in that he played with Charlie Parker and Andrew Hill, representatives of both the original bebop school and with the Blue Note post-bop scene of the 1960s. AFRO-CUBAN, originally issued in 1955, is one of Dorham's finest albums, highlighting his skill as composer, bandleader, and, of course, trumpeter. Half the album is a melding of melodically imaginative bop and the African-based rhythms of Cuba and the Caribbean, while the remainder is more straight-up bebop. The playing is exemplary and fresh, as befitting a posse of players that includes Hank Mobley, Horace Silver, and Art Blakey in their younger days. The tunes, nearly all originals, are tight and trim--all killer, no filler.

Product Info

  • UPC: 094639274420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)