COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Aerosmith Essential Aerosmith (2-CD)

Essential Aerosmith (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Aerosmith
8 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $18.60 Limited Time Only
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 5-8 days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XQE8
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 13, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Mama Kin
  • 2.Dream On
  • 3.Same Old Song and Dance
  • 4.Seasons of Wither
  • 5.Walk This Way
  • 6.Big Ten Inch Record
  • 7.Sweet Emotion
  • 8.Last Child
  • 9.Back In the Saddle
  • 10.Draw the Line [Remix]
  • 11.Dude (Looks Like a Lady)
  • 12.Angel
  • 13.Rag Doll
  • 14.Janie's Got a Gun
  • 15.Love In an Elevator
  • 16.What It Takes

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Other Side
  • 2.Livin' On the Edge
  • 3.Cryin'
  • 4.Amazing
  • 5.Deuces Are Wild
  • 6.Crazy
  • 7.Falling In Love (is Hard On the Knees)
  • 8.Pink [the South Beach Mix]
  • 9.I Don't Want To Miss a Thing
  • 10.Jaded
  • 11.Just Push Play [Radio Remix]
  • 12.Walk This Way
  • 13.Girls of Summer
  • 14.Lay It Down

Product Description:

Personnel: Steven Tyler (vocals, harmonica, piano, keyboards, percussion); Joe Perry (guitars, background vocals); Brad Whitford (guitars); Joey Kramer (drums, percussion).
Recording information: Record Plant Studios, NYC (04/2002); The Cenacle, Armonk, NY (04/2002); Record Plant Studios, NYC (06/1977-10/1977); The Cenacle, Armonk, NY (06/1977-10/1977).
Photographer: Ross Halfin.
Almost all the heavy-hitters are hauled out for The Essential Aerosmith, from "Mama Kin" to "Jaded," and including both versions of "Walk This Way." Some of the songs are presented in a remixed form -- "Draw the Line," "Pink," "Just Push Play" -- but all of the new mixes are good, possibly even improvements, and the newer song, "Girls of Summer," is strong (its companion, "Lay It Down," isn't as noteworthy). So, all the parts are in place -- why doesn't it feel definitive, then? After all, there are no big songs or hits missing (apart from the cover of "Come Together," which isn't much of a loss), just fan favorites and album tracks like "Lick and a Promise," and "Chip Away the Stone". The reason it doesn't feel definitive is that the classic Columbia recordings are wrapped up by track ten, and then the best of their late-'80s comeback is wrapped up by the end of the first disc, which leaves disc two pretty much devoted to everything from Get a Grip on -- an era not widely considered their best, even though it had a number of hits, plus a couple of good songs along the way ("Crying," "Deuces Are Wild"). So, even though this delivers everything it should and will certainly be the one Aerosmith set most casual listeners will need, it doesn't quite capture the essence of the band the way their greatest albums do (whether they're Rocks or Pump). ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 20,170
  • UPC: 886979221024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)