The Residents Eskimo

Get email alerts for The Residents
18 ratings
Price: $16.50
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $3.49 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  3FE9C
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: October 12, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: MVD Audio

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Walrus Hunt
  • 2.Birth
  • 3.Arctic Hysteria
  • 4.The Angry Angakok

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.A Spirit Steals A Child
  • 2.The Festival of Death

Product Description:

Contains 4 extra tracks from the "Replacement" section of SUBTERREAN MODERN.
ESKIMO is one the penultimate titles in The Residents' vast catalog Based very loosely on Eskimo rituals, these six pieces are as layered as most of the strange and mysterious group's projects. But there's a compelling sense of place to ESKIMO, as the sound of wind and the atmospherics of vast, frozen expanses set the stage for seemingly indigenous (though, in fact, fictional) instrumentation.
The Residents filter their disembodied voices through various electronic gadgets. In service to their invented ESKIMO mythology, these voices resonate with haunting playfulness. The devil sits on one shoulder, an angel on the other, both whispering in your ears while some unseen higher power breathes down your back. This album succeeds in evoking glimpses of a people and their heritage without succumbing to stereotype, mimicry, or ridicule.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 75,742
  • UPC: 760137545316
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)