Get email alerts for Mississippi Fred McDowell
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  K2RJ
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: October 4, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Arhoolie Records

Description by

Arguably the greatest recordings of the great Fred McDowell's career were the two albums for Arhoolie, recorded at the height of the blues revival in 1964-65. This is the first of those two and an absolutely stunning piece of delta blues majesty, Stripped down beauty that?s reissued here with an exact reproduction of the paste-on-sleeve.


  • 1.Write Me A Few Lines
  • 2.Louise
  • 3.I Heard Somebody Call
  • 4.61 Highway
  • 5.Mama Don't Allow Me
  • 6.Kokomo Blues
  • 7.Fred's Worried Life Blues
  • 8.You Gonna Be Sorry
  • 9.Shake 'Em On Down
  • 10.My Trouble Blues
  • 11.Black Minnie
  • 12.That's Alright
  • 13.When I Lay My Burden Down

Product Description:

Discovered by Alan Lomax in 1959, Mississippi Fred McDowell quickly established himself as one of the finest country bluesmen to ever come out of Mississippi. With his strong, nuanced vocals and his rapid, slashing slide style, McDowell had few equals. This collection pulls together several of his mid-'60s recordings, including his fine version of "Write Me a Few Lines." ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 73,437
  • UPC: 646315202113
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)