COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

The Wizard of Oz (2011 London Cast)

Get email alerts for Michael Crawford
15 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $19.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $1.09 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  363R9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 9, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Decca U.S.


  • 1.Overture
  • 2.Nobody Understands Me
  • 3.Over The Rainbow
  • 4.Wonders of The World
  • 5.The Twister
  • 6.Arrival In Munchkinland
  • 7.Munchkinland / Ding - Dong! The Witch Is Dead
  • 8.Follow The Yellow Brick Road
  • 9.If I Only Had A Brain / We're Off To See The Wizard
  • 10.If I Only Had A Heart / We're Off To See The Wizard
  • 11.If I Only Had The Nerve / We're Off To See The Wizard
  • 12.We're Outta The Woods
  • 13.The Merry Old Land of Oz
  • 14.Bring Me The Broomstick
  • 15.Haunted Forest
  • 16.Red Shoes Blues
  • 17.Bacchanalia
  • 18.Red Shoes Blues (Reprise)
  • 19.Over The Rainbow (Reprise)
  • 20.If I Only Had A Plan
  • 21.The Rescue
  • 22.Hail - Hail! The Witch Is Dead
  • 23.The Wizard's Departure
  • 24.Already Home
  • 25.Finale

Product Description:

Lyricists: E.Y. "Yip" Harburg; Tim Rice.
Adapters: Jeremy Sams; Andrew Lloyd Webber.
Liner Note Author: Andrew Lloyd Webber.
Recording information: Air Edel Studios, London; Sarm Studios, London; Smp Studios, Surrey; Sphere Studios, London.
Editor: Yann McCullough.
Photographers: Keith Pattison; Simon Turtle.
Released just two months after its West End debut, Andrew Lloyd Webber's New Production of the Wizard of Oz is the accompanying soundtrack to the musical maestro's 2011 adaptation of the classic 1939 film. Its 25 tracks include all the numbers performed by the likes of Danielle Hope, the winner of the BBC talent search for the lead role of Dorothy, theater legend Michael Crawford as The Wizard, and Olivier Award nominee Hannah Waddingham as the Wicked Witch of the West. Wisely, the stage show Presario has opted to stick with all but one of the Harold Arlen/E.Y. Harburg compositions from the Judy Garland-starring original (only "If I Were King in the Forest" is omitted), including Hope's stunning take on "Over the Rainbow," the Munchkins' performance of "Ding Dong the Witch Is Dead" and "Follow the Yellow Brick Road," and the Scarecrow, Tin Man, and Lion's renditions of "If Only I Had a Brain/Heart/Nerve," respectively. But it's the several brand new songs co-penned with former songwriting partner Tim Rice (their first major collaboration since 1978's Evita) that gives Lloyd Webber's 18th musical its own identity. The characters of Professor Marvel and The Wicked Witch of the West take their chance to shine on their first ever solo pieces, "The Wonders of the World" and "Red Shoes Blues," while there are added numbers for Dorothy ("Nobody Understands Me"), The Wizard ("Bring Me the Broomstick"), and the ensemble ("Already Home"), all of which are worthy additions to the duo's impressive back catalog. While the album unavoidably loses some of the impact (lacking as it does the show's spectacular set designs and special effects), it's still a hugely enjoyable listen which remains faithful to the source material while remaining a quintessential Lloyd Webber affair. ~ Jon O'Brien

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,565
  • UPC: 602527701318
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)