The Doors A Collection (Limited Edition) (6-CD) [U.K. Import]

Uncut (magazine): 5 stars out of 5 -- "[This] provides the most elegant statement possible of The Doors' greatness..."
A Collection (Limited Edition) (6-CD) [U.K.
Get email alerts for The Doors
7 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $35.80 Limited Time Only
List Price: $41.99
You Save: $6.19 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
20 copies available
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
item number:  FXG2
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: July 11, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Warner Bros Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.84
5 stars out of 5 -- "[This] provides the most elegant statement possible of The Doors' greatness..."


  • 1.Disc 1 - The Doors
  • 2.Break On Through (To The Other Side)
  • 3.Soul Kitchen
  • 4.The Crystal Ship
  • 5.Twentieth Century Fox
  • 6.Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)
  • 7.Light My Fire
  • 8.Back Door Man
  • 9.I Looked At You
  • 10.End of The Night
  • 11.Take It As It Comes
  • 12.The End
  • 13.Disc 2 - Strange Days
  • 14.Strange Days
  • 15.You're Lost Little Girl
  • 16.Love Me Two Times
  • 17.Unhappy Girl
  • 18.Horse Latitudes
  • 19.Moonlight Drive
  • 20.People Are Strange
  • 21.My Eyes Have Seen You
  • 22.I Can't See Your Face In My Mind
  • 23.When The Music's Over
  • 24.Disc 3 - Waiting For The Sun
  • 25.Hello, I Love You
  • 26.Love Street
  • 27.Not To Touch The Earth
  • 28.Summer's Almost Gone
  • 29.Wintertime Love
  • 30.The Unknown Soldier
  • 31.Spanish Caravan
  • 32.My Wild Love
  • 33.We Could Be So Good Together
  • 34.Yes, The River Knows
  • 35.Five To One
  • 36.Disc 4 - The Soft Parade
  • 37.Tell All The People
  • 38.Touch Me
  • 39.Shaman's Blues
  • 40.Do It
  • 41.Easy Ride
  • 42.Wild Child
  • 43.Runnin' Blue
  • 44.Wishful Sinful
  • 45.The Soft Parade
  • 46.Disc 5 - Morrison Hotel
  • 47.Roadhouse Blues
  • 48.Waiting For The Sun
  • 49.You Make Me Real
  • 50.Peace Frog
  • 51.Blue Sunday
  • 52.Ship of Fools
  • 53.Land Ho!
  • 54.The Spy
  • 55.Queen of The Highway
  • 56.Indian Summer
  • 57.Maggie M'Gill
  • 58.Disc 6 - L. A. Woman
  • 59.The Changeling
  • 60.Love Her Madly
  • 61.Been Down So Long
  • 62.Cars Hiss By My Window
  • 63.L. A. Woman
  • 64.L'America
  • 65.Hyacinth House
  • 66.Crawling King Snake
  • 67.The Wasp (Texas Radio and The Big Beat)
  • 68.Riders On The Storm

Product Description:

Personnel: Jim Morrison (vocals); Robby Krieger (guitar); Jesse McReynolds (mandolin); Jim Buchanan (fiddle); Champ Webb (English horn); Curtis Amy (saxophone); George Bohanan (trombone); Ray Manzarek (piano, organ); John Densmore (drums); Reinol Andino (congas).
Audio Mixers: The Doors; Bruce Botnick.
Recording information: Elektra Sound Recorders, Los Angeles; Sunset Sound Recorders, Hollywood; The Doors Workshop, Los Angeles.
Illustrator: Peter Schaumann.
Photographers: Joel Brodsky; Henry Diltz.
Arranger: The Doors.
The Doors released six albums between 1967 and 1971 (the band was really only together in its classic incarnation for four years), and leaning heavily on lead singer Jim Morrison's frequently sophomoric but always eerily fascinating takes on the colliding orbits of sex and death, the group managed to sound dangerous and edgy while still retaining commercial viability, even placing two singles, 1967's "Light My Fire" and 1968's "Hello, I Love You," at the very top of the pop charts. This beautiful set collects all six of those albums in their 40th anniversary remastered versions, complete with facsimile paper sleeves featuring the original artwork. It adds up to a very impressive legacy, from the early mission statement "Break on Through (To the Other Side)" to the unambiguous stomp of "L.A. Woman" (for the record, the chant of "Mr. Mojo Risin'" was intended as a deliberate anagram of the name Jim Morrison). What sometimes gets lost in the larger-than-life myth of Morrison was his refreshing directness with love songs, and "Love Me Two Times," "Touch Me," and "Love Her Madly" still retain a surprisingly tender strength and honesty even some 40 years after they were recorded. Then, of course, there's "The End," still one of the most harrowing moments in the history of rock, and the song that best illustrates Morrison's over the top but somehow appropriately balanced sense of how theater, drama, psychology, sex, death, pop poetry, and rock all merge into a single unavoidable spectacle. No band has ever done it better, or had the courage to even try. ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 77,902
  • UPC: 081227976262
  • Shipping Weight: 0.41/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)