Eartha Kitt Bad Eartha / Down To Eartha

Bad Eartha / Down To Eartha
Get email alerts for Eartha Kitt
4 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $11.99 (71% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 2840
Brand New
Related products:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: RCA-LPM-1183 (1953)
  • Original Album #2: RCA-LPM-1109 (1955)

Description by

These two albums were recorded by Eartha Kitt in the mid-1950s, when her popularity as a vocalist was peaking. Highlights on these two original LPs include C'est Si Bon (It's So Good)" (a top ten hit) and "(If I Love Ya, Then I Need Ya) I Wantcha Around." On both albums she's backed by Henri Rene and his orchestra.


  • 1.I Want To Be Evil
  • 2.C'est Si Bon (It's So Good)
  • 3.Angelitos Negros
  • 4.Avril Au Portugal (The Whisp'ring Serenade)
  • 5.Let's Do It
  • 6.My Heart Belongs To Daddy
  • 7.Uska Dara - A Turkish Tale
  • 8.African Lullaby
  • 9.Mountain High, Valley Low
  • 10.Lilac Wine (Drink Me A Song)
  • 11.Under The Bridges Of Paris
  • 12.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 13.I Wantcha Around
  • 14.Do You Remember
  • 15.Looking For A Boy
  • 16.I've Got That Lovin' Bug Itch
  • 17.Oh John! (Please Don't Kiss Me)
  • 18.Strangers In The Starlight
  • 19.The Day That The Circus Left Town
  • 20.Apres Moi
  • 21.The Heel
  • 22.Mambo De Paree
  • 23.My Heart's Delight
  • 24.Hey Jacque

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: THAT BAD EARTHA (1955)/DOWN TO EARTHA (1955).
Personnel includes: Eartha Kitt (vocals); Henri Rene & His Orchestra.
Recorded between 1953 & 1955. Originally released on RCA (1183) & RCA (1109).
Personnel: Eartha Kitt (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Jack OBrian.
Recording information: 03/12/1953-10/19/1954.
Collectables Records combines Eartha Kitt's second and third LPs on this discount-priced CD reissue, giving a good sense of her early style, which, come to think of it, is the style she continued to maintain throughout her career. Born in South Carolina and raised in Harlem, Kitt acquired her sexy, self-mocking, continental sophistication via her travels around the world, particularly a stay in Paris. By the time she burst upon New York, first with a series of nightclub appearances, then in the revue New Faces of 1952, and finally on her RCA Victor recordings, she came across as a rich, jaded chanteuse. At the same time, however, she let her audiences know that it was all something of a joke, which, of course, made it all the more appealing. On 1953's "That Bad Eartha" (the quotation marks were deliberate), RCA reprised some of her hit singles, notably "C'est Si Bon (It's So Good)," and gave her some similar material, particularly a couple of naughty Cole Porter songs, "Let's Do It" and "My Heart Belongs to Daddy." She sang in French, Spanish, Turkish, and even Swahili, but all along she was speaking the language of the supper club, singing with precise articulation in her limited, reedy, vibrato-laden voice. On Down to Eartha, a 1955 collection of later singles and tracks, you can hear RCA looking for hits with some up-tempo novelty material, but there are also more songs for the nightclub act, stories Kitt acts out, such as "The Heel" and "Oh John! (Please Don't Kill Me)." Kitt's sly theatricality wins out over the sometimes pedestrian songwriting, making the collection as a whole a powerful demonstration of her talents. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,944
  • UPC: 090431284025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)