Get email alerts for Freddie King
4 ratings
SALE: $13.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $2.99 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
13 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 2826
Brand New
Products with a similar style:
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records


  • 1.(I'd Love To) Make Love To You
  • 2.One Hundred Years
  • 3.Now I've Got A Woman
  • 4.Surf Monkey
  • 5.If You Have It
  • 6.Low Tide
  • 7.Remington Ride
  • 8.Monkey Donkey
  • 9.Meet Me At The Station
  • 10.Full Time Love
  • 11.King-A-Ling
  • 12.I Love You More Everyday
  • 13.Teardrops On Your Letter
  • 14.Some Other Day Some Other Time
  • 15.She's The One
  • 16.She's That Kind
  • 17.Man Hole
  • 18.Fish Fare
  • 19.Funny Bone
  • 20.Cloud Sailin'
  • 21.The Sad Nite Owl
  • 22.Nickel Plated
  • 23.Freddy's Midnite Dream
  • 24.Girl From Kookamunga
  • 25.You've Got Me Licked
  • 26.Double-Eyed Wammy
  • 27.Use What You've Got

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
This is the third and final volume compiling all of the material Freddie King (strangely spelled "Freddy" on all three discs) recorded for the King/Federal label. It picks up at a session on November 29, 1962, and continues until his last recordings for the imprint on September 14, 1966. A full two years separated the final two dates, but his style remained similar even though a young, completely unidentifiable Lonnie Mack was added on second guitar for his last Federal studio recordings. While there are a handful of cheesy tunes aimed at the teen market ("Surf Monkey" and "Monkey Donkey" reflect an odd simian theme, with the latter describing a pseudo dance not far removed from the twist), King basically sticks to the tough Texas blues and R&B that was his forte. By this time, he had thankfully abandoned the schlocky bossa nova and twist music that marred Vol. 2 of this three-disc history. On even the least successful tracks, such as the surf instrumental "Fish Fare," King's guitar still stings, providing relief from the by the numbers backing and song structure. None of these 27 tracks nibbled at the singles charts or are even historically influential, yet their obscurity makes them a gold mine for King fans who want to dig deeper into his catalog. There are also some diamonds in the rough here, like the stabbing slow blues of "You've Got Me Licked," a powerful song in the "Have You Ever Loved a Woman" style with King providing a cutting-edge solo. The remastered sound is excellent, providing transparency to King's voice and especially guitar that adds clarity to the bluesman's already legendary skills. Nimble remote fingers will certainly help the experience, but this is a most welcome compilation, although obviously not the place for newcomers to start their Freddie King collections. ~ Hal Horowitz

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
blues at its best Music Lover: from Topeka, KS -- January, 2, 2006

This comment applies to volumes one, two, and three in this series of CDs by Freddie King.

Here is your chance to hear all of Freddie King's recordings made for the King/Federal label. These are among the very finest post-World War II era blues recordings.

I am glad I got to see Freddie King perform once on stage in the 1970s.

Collectables Records
Very Best Of King/Federal/DeLuxe Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Volumes:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 26,547
  • UPC: 090431282625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)