Erskine Hawkins Complete Erskine Hawkins (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Erskine Hawkins
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $10.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  COL 2814
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: RCA 43257 (1938)

Description by

Dubbed the "20th Century Gabriel," Erskine Hawkins was most famous for the self-penned hit, "Tuxedo Junction." This two compact disc set from the vaults of RCA/Bluebird captures Hawkins' work at the height of his career.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rockin' Rollers' Jubilee
  • 2.I'm Madly In Love With You
  • 3.Let This Be A Warning To You
  • 4.Miss Hallelujah Brown
  • 5.Weary Blues
  • 6.King Porter Stomp
  • 7.Strictly Swing
  • 8.Do You Want To Jump, Children?
  • 9.What Do You Know About Love?
  • 10.A Study In Blue
  • 11.Easy Rider
  • 12.Because Of You
  • 13."I" The Living "I"
  • 14.Let The Punishment Fit The Crime
  • 15.Swing Out
  • 16.Raid The Joint

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Big Wig In The Wigwam
  • 2.Polka Dotty
  • 3.No Soap (A Jitterbug Jamboree)
  • 4.Swingin' On Lenox Avenue
  • 5.Hot Platter
  • 6.Gin Mill Special
  • 7.Cherry
  • 8.Tuxedo Junction
  • 9.Weddin' Blues
  • 10.You Can't Escape From Me
  • 11.Rehearsal In Love
  • 12.Satan Does The Rhumba
  • 13.More Than You Know
  • 14.Uptown Shuffle
  • 15.I Hadn't Anyone 'Till You
  • 16.Baltimore Bounce
  • 17.Fine And Mellow
  • 18.Saboo

Product Description:

Personnel: Erskine Hawkins (trumpet); Jimmy Mitchele (vocals, alto saxophone); Merle Turner, Ida James, Skeeter Best (vocals); William "Bill" Johnson (alto saxophone); Julian Dash (tenor saxophone); Heywood Henry (baritone saxophone, clarinet); Same Lowe, Wilbur Bascomb, Marcellus Green (trumpet); Edward Sims, Robert Range (trombone); Avery Parrish (piano); William McLemore (guitar); Leemie Stanfield (bass); James Morrison (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York in 1938-39.
Personnel: Erskine Hawkins (trumpet); Jimmy Mitchelle (vocals, alto saxophone); Dolores Brown, Merle Turner, Ida James (vocals); William McLemore, Skeeter Best (guitar); Haywood Henry (clarinet, baritone saxophone); William "Cat" Johnson (alto saxophone); Julian Dash (tenor saxophone); Wilbur Bascomb, Sr., Marcellus Green, Sam Lowe (trumpet); Edward Sims, Robert Range (trombone); Avery Parrish (piano); James Morrison (drums).
Liner Note Author: Don Waterhouse.
Recording information: New York, NY (09/12/1938-12/20/1939).
Arrangers: Erskine Hawkins; William "Cat" Johnson; Sam Lowe; Avery Parrish.
The Complete: 1938-1939 contains early big band sessions from trumpeter/bandleader Erskine Hawkins. Hawkins recorded excellent swing records for RCA into the '40s before later incorporating R&B as musical times changed, culminating with his classic "After Hours." The 34 tracks on this Collectables reissue include "King Porter Stomp," "Do You Wanna Jump Children?," "Satan Does the Rhumba," "Raid the Joint," and the original version of "Tuxedo Junction." Hawkins and company even manage to make two tracks from the Gilbert & Sullivan songbook swing. Highly recommended. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,915
  • UPC: 090431281420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)