COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Sister Midnight: Live at the Agora '76

Get email alerts for Iggy Pop
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XSY6
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 14, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Store For Music


  • 1.Raw Power
  • 2.1969
  • 3.Turn Blue
  • 4.Sister Midnight
  • 5.I Need Somebody
  • 6.Search & Destroy
  • 7.TV Eye
  • 8.Dirt
  • 9.Funtime
  • 10.Gimme Danger
  • 11.No Fun
  • 12.I Wanna Be Your Dog

Product Description:

Personnel: Iggy Pop (vocals, guitar); Ricky Gardiner (guitar); David Bowie (keyboards); Tony Sales (bass); Hunt Sales (drums).
Recorded live at the Agora Ballroom, Cleveland, Ohio on March 21, 1977. Includes liner notes by Dave Thompson.
Personnel: Iggy Pop (vocals); Ricky Gardiner (guitar); David Bowie (keyboards); Hunt Sales (drums).
Liner Note Author: Alfie Falckenbach.
Recording information: Agora Ballroom, Cleveland, OH (03/21/1977).
It would be fair to say that David Bowie saved Iggy Pop's skinny ass more than a couple of times. In 1976, as Iggy made strides to get his life back on track (following the demise of the seminal Stooges), the pair would join forces on what would arguably turn out to be one of Iggy's best solo albums, The Idiot. The album would initiate the first in a series of love/hate collaborations between Detroit's bastard son and the Thin White Duke. With The Idiot in the can, Iggy set out to tour the U.K. and America, using the future Tin Machine rhythm section of Hunt Sales (drums) and Tony Sales (bass), as well as Bowie guitarist Ricky Gardiner. Bowie would also volunteer his services by contributing keyboards, thus enhancing the quartet's sound. This live recording, taken from the band's gig at the Agora Ballroom in Cleveland, OH, showcases Iggy and company in all their cookie-cutter glory. It's clear from the recording (and the album's excellent liner notes) that Iggy looked at this tour as his chance to do right. The live music that comes out of the pairing clearly shows passion but ultimately lacks the abandon of past as well as later Iggy tours. Although well-executed and certainly well-rehearsed, songs like the cathartic "Raw Power" and "1969" are siphoned by the politeness of it all. Some, however, do work. Tracks like "Search and Destroy" and "T.V. Eye," when broken down into these slower and more orchestrated arrangements, sound good. However, other tracks like the punishing "Dirt" and the boogie-woogie, sounded-like-a-good-idea-on paper romp through "No Fun" don't deliver on the promise made by the originals. The topnotch recording itself is right off the soundboard and sounds timeless. A worthy historical document for any hardcore Pop fan. ~ John Franck

Product Info

  • UPC: 5413992592357
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19