Mazzy Star Among My Swan

Among My Swan
Get email alerts for Mazzy Star
33 ratings
Sale: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $2.91 (18% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  9948
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 29, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 11/08/96, p.68
"...Where Hope Sandoval's haunting vocals darken the duo's third album with a vast and pleasing loneliness, David Roback's fuzzy country guitar draws a sharp edge around songs that might otherwise drift..." - Rating: A-
Q - 12/96, p.138
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...(they) borrow elements from country, folk, West Coast psychedelia and the Mary Chain's brand of feedback, but their blueprint remains Sandoval's coy, deadpan voice, a listless tambourine and Roback's fluent picking..."
Option - 1-2/97, pp.95-96
"...David Roback and Hope Sandoval's idealized encapsulation of '60s psychedelia and folk actually transcends any of the music it draws upon....probably Mazzy's best album..."


  • 1.Disappear
  • 2.Flowers In December
  • 3.Rhymes Of An Hour
  • 4.Cry, Cry
  • 5.Take Everything
  • 6.Still Cold
  • 7.All Your Sisters
  • 8.I've Been Let Down
  • 9.Roseblood
  • 10.Happy
  • 11.Umbilical
  • 12.Look On Down From The Bridge

Product Description:

Mazzy Star: Hope Sandoval (vocals, harmonica, percussion); David Roback (various instruments, guitar, keyboards).
Additional personnel includes: William Reid (guitar).
Personnel: Hope Sandoval (vocals, harmonica, percussion); David Roback (guitar, keyboards); William Reid (guitar); William Cooper (strings); Keith Mitchell , Aaron Sherer (drums).
Photographer: Beth Herzhaft.
AMONG MY SWAN features the same swirling, psychedelic folk music that brought MAZZY STAR mainstream success with 1993's SO TONIGHT THAT I MIGHT SEE. The songs employ the sparse arrangements and dark sense of space first explored by bands like Big Star (on THIRD/SISTER LOVERS) and the Velvet Underground. But with tunes that are always accessible, and sometimes irresistible, Mazzy Star has brought this dreamy ballad sound up from the underground.
David Roback provides a shimmering backdrop of slide guitar and organ for Hope Sandoval's mesmerizing vocals. Smooth as honey and wispy as tumbleweed, Sandoval's haunting voice traps the listener in a celestial trance. AMONG MY SWAN never lapses into the self-indulgent side of psychedelia; the music is always kept muted and close to its folk and blues roots. This is an album of beautiful mood music that flickers in the shadows.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,650
  • UPC: 724382722427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)