Joe Williams At Newport '63 / Jump For Joy - A Golden Classics Edition

Get email alerts for Joe Williams
Price: $18
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $0.99 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  Q4SG
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: RCA LSP-2762 (1963)
  • Original Album #2: RCA Victor SP-2713 (1963)

Description by

To many people in the business and in the record buying public, there was just no better male jazz singer than Joe Williams. Here are two of the great Williams albums, both originally recorded for RCA Records: "At Newport '63" captures a sizzling live performance, while the talent joining Williams on "Jump For Joy" reads like a Who's Who in the world of jazz.


  • 1.Without A Song
  • 2.Gravy Waltz
  • 3.She's Warm, She's Willing, She's Wonderful
  • 4.Come Back Baby
  • 5.All God's Chillun Got Rhythm / Do You Wanna Jump Children
  • 6.Wayfaring Stranger
  • 7.Every Day
  • 8.Anytime, Anyday, Anywhere
  • 9.April In Paris
  • 10.In The Evenin' (When The Sun Goes Down)
  • 11.Some Of This 'N' Some Of That
  • 12.Roll 'Em Pete
  • 13.Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
  • 14.You Perfect Stranger
  • 15.It's A Wonderful World
  • 16.Sounds Of The Night
  • 17.More Than Likely
  • 18.She Doesn't Know (I Love Her)
  • 19.I Went Out Of My Way
  • 20.Great City
  • 21.A Good Thing
  • 22.Just A-Sittin' And A-Rockin'
  • 23.My Last Affair
  • 24.Jump For Joy

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: AT NEWPORT '63 (1963)/JUMP FOR JOY (1963).
Personnel: Joe Williams (vocals); Coleman Hawkins, Zoot Sims (tenor saxophone); Clark Terry (trumpet, flugelhorn); Howard McGhee (trumpet); Junior Mance (piano); Bob Cranshaw (bass); Mickey Roker (drums).
Recorded live in Newport, Rhode Island on July 5, 1963. Includes liner notes by George Avakian and Mark Marymont.
Personnel includes: Joe Williams (vocals); Jimmy Jones, Oliver Nelson (arranger).
Producer: George Avakian.
Recorded at Webster Hall, New York, New York.
This Collectables single-disc collects two very good albums Joe Williams recorded for RCA from the early '60s. While the presentation of this collection could have been better -- the packaging looks a little cheap and the sound isn't all it could have been -- both of these records are quite good and this is a good way to collect both records on disc, even if RCA has reissued these albums as better-sounding single discs. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 3,615
  • UPC: 090431270622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)