Joe Williams Me And The Blues / The Song Is You

Get email alerts for Joe Williams
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $10.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 2703
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: RCA LSP-2879 (1964)
  • Original Album #2: RCA Victor SP-3433 (1965)

Description by

Considered one of the last great big band singers (he fronted bands conducted by both Lionel Hampton and Count Basie), Joe Williams achieved success as a solo singer in the mid-'50s and was equally welcome in both the jazz and blues worlds. This compact disc contains two albums recorded by the man considered one of the great vocal masters of our time.


  • 1.I'm Sticking With You Baby
  • 2.Me And The Blues
  • 3.Every Night
  • 4.Rocks In My Bed
  • 5.Come On Blues
  • 6.Workin' (Work Song)
  • 7.Soothe Me
  • 8.Early In The Morning
  • 9.Good Morning Heartache
  • 10.Kansas City
  • 11.A Woman
  • 12.Hobo Flats
  • 13.Yours Is My Heart Alone
  • 14.I'll Follow You
  • 15.Sleepy Time Gal
  • 16.The Song Is You
  • 17.Prelude To A Kiss
  • 18.(I Wanna Go Where You Go, Do What You Do) Then I'll Be Happy
  • 19.People
  • 20.I'm A Fool To Want You
  • 21.That Face
  • 22.My Darling
  • 23.My Romance
  • 24.You Stepped Out Of A Dream

Product Description:

Personnel: Joe Williams (vocals); Oliver Nelson, Jimmy Jones (arranger, conductor). Jerome Richardson (alto, tenor & baritone saxophones, flute); Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Phil Bodner (tenor saxophone, flute); Seldon Powell, Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (baritone saxophone); Clark Terry, Thad Jones (trumpet); Urbie Green, Jimmy Cleveland (trombone); Bernie Leighton, Junior Mance, Hank Jones (piano); Kenny Burrell, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Milt Hinton, Bob Cranshaw (acoustic bass); Sol Gubin, Osie Johnson (drums).
Reissue producer: Rolf Enoch.
Recorded at Webster Hall, New York between February 1 and December 5, 1963.
Personnel: Joe Williams (vocals).
Recording information: Webster Hall, New York, NY.
This Collectables single-disc collects two very good albums Joe Williams recorded for RCA from the early '60s. While the presentation of this collection could have been better -- the packaging looks a little cheap and the sound isn't all it could have been -- both of these records are quite good and this is a good way to collect both records on disc, even if RCA has reissued these albums as better-sounding single discs. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Series:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 3,731
  • UPC: 090431270325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)