COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

The Monkees Forever

Get email alerts for The Monkees
7 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $8.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $6 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 79469
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 26, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.I'm a Believer
  • 2.Valleri
  • 3.You Just May Be The One (TV Version)
  • 4.That Was Then, This Is Now
  • 5.(I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
  • 6.Pleasant Valley Sunday
  • 7.Daydream Believer
  • 8.Last Train To Clarksville
  • 9.She Makes Me Laugh
  • 10.A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You (Stereo Remix)
  • 11.Porpoise Song (Theme from "Head")
  • 12.Heart And Soul
  • 13.Words
  • 14.Goin' Down

Product Description:

Recording information: California Recorders, Hollywood, CA; Cherokee REcording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Heaven Studios, Beverly Hills, CA; Lucy's Meat Market, Los Angeles, CA; RCA Victor Studio B, Hollywood, CA; RCA Victor Studio B, New York, NY; United Recorders Studio B, Hollywood, CA; Victor Studio A, Hollywood, CA; Wally Heider Recording, Hollywood, CA; Western Recorders Studio 1, Hollywood, CA.
The Monkees were, of course, assembled more for their acting and comedic abilities than any musical ones, and many of their songs were simply disposable vehicles for a huge marketing machine, but the group eventually developed musical aspirations that yielded some strikingly good pop songs, including capable covers of Neil Diamond's "A Little Bit Me, a Little Bit You" and Harry Nilsson's "Cuddly Toy," as well as Michael Nesmith's own "The Girl I Knew Somewhere," the pop gem "Pleasant Valley Sunday," and the pleasantly psychedelic "Porpoise Song," all of which are included in this three-disc collection (at 30 tracks total, this could have easily been a double disc, or with a little editing, a super single disc). Also here is the Monkees' first single, "Last Train to Clarksville," which in retrospect was a pretty good debut (even if they didn't play their own instruments on it). This isn't the perfect introduction to the Monkees, but it does do a decent job of spotlighting a group that was, in hindsight, no worse than -- and in many cases, better than -- what passed for cool and hip at the close of the 1960s. ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,890
  • UPC: 081227946951
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)