COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

The Monkees The Monkees 50 (3-CD)

Get email alerts for The Monkees
MASSIVE CD SALE: $32.50 Limited Time Only
List Price: $34.98
You Save: $2.48 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  6CHDA
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 26, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.(Theme From) The Monkees
  • 2.Last Train To Clarksville
  • 3.Take A Giant Step
  • 4.Papa Gene's Blues
  • 5.I'm a Believer
  • 6.(I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
  • 7.She
  • 8.A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You (Stereo Remix)
  • 9.The Girl I Knew Somewhere
  • 10.Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow)
  • 11.Mary, Mary
  • 12.Sometime In The Morning
  • 13.Randy Scouse Git
  • 14.You Told Me
  • 15.Shades Of Gray
  • 16.For Pete's Sake (Closing Theme)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Pleasant Valley Sunday
  • 2.Cuddly Toy
  • 3.Words
  • 4.Love Is Only Sleeping
  • 5.Daydream Believer
  • 6.Goin' Down
  • 7.Valleri
  • 8.Tapioca Tundra
  • 9.P.O. Box 9847
  • 10.Auntie's Municipal Court
  • 11.D.W. Washburn
  • 12.It's Nice To Be With You
  • 13.Porpoise Song (Theme from "Head")
  • 14.As We Go Along
  • 15.Circle Sky (Live)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Tear Drop City
  • 2.A Man Without A Dream
  • 3.You And I
  • 4.Listen To The Band
  • 5.Someday Man
  • 6.Good Clean Fun
  • 7.Mommy And Daddy
  • 8.French Song
  • 9.Oh My My
  • 10.I Love You Better
  • 11.That Was Then, This Is Now
  • 12.Anytime, Anyplace, Anywhere
  • 13.Heart And Soul
  • 14.MGBGT (Live)
  • 15.Every Step Of The Way
  • 16.You And I
  • 17.Regional Girl
  • 18.You Bring the Summer
  • 19.She Makes Me Laugh

Product Description:

Various record company folks have been trying to assemble the ideal Monkees collection since their first "Greatest Hits" album came out in 1969. With the greatest rock band in television history celebrating the 50th anniversary of their debut in 2016, it seemed only fitting that Rhino Records, who owns the group's back catalog, would take another stab at the definitive overview of the band's career. The Monkees 50 celebrates the band's Golden Anniversary in appropriate fashion, featuring 50 songs that run the gamut of the band's history. All of the Monkees' familiar hits are included here, and so are some little known tunes from their original run, Mickey Dolenz and Peter Tork's duo singles from the group's mid-'80s comeback, and tracks from the reunion albums Pool It! (1987), Justus (1996), and Good Times! (2016). Monkees 50's first two discs feature the songs Monkees fans know best, along with a few worthy obscurities, and they're a marvelous reminder of just how great their work was, representing some of the finest pop record making of the '60s. Disc three is for more committed fans, though there are certainly songs worth hearing there, especially "Listen to the Band" and "Mommy and Daddy." Monkees 50 is a better than the average Monkees collection, and any album with "Last Train from Clarksville," "Pleasant Valley Sunday," "Daydream Believer," and "Porpoise Song" is a rewarding listen. ~ Mark Deming

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 22,649
  • UPC: 081227947347
  • Shipping Weight: 0.34/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)