Townes Van Zandt Live In Texas (2-CD)

Live In Texas (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Townes Van Zandt
Sale: $11.66
List Price: $12.95
You Save: $2.81 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 8 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XWEK
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 27, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Atom

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Poncho and Lefty
  • 2.Mr. Mudd and Mr. Gold
  • 3.Don't You Take It Too Bad
  • 4.Two Girls
  • 5.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 6.Rex's Blues
  • 7.Talking Thunderbird Blues
  • 8.She Came and She Touched Me
  • 9.To Live is To Fly
  • 10.White Freight Liner Blues
  • 11.Brand New Companion
  • 12.If I Needed You
  • 13.Fraternity Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tecumseh Valley
  • 2.For the Sake of the Song
  • 3.Chauffer's Blues
  • 4.No Place To Fall
  • 5.Kathleen
  • 6.Cocaine Blues
  • 7.Why She's Acting This Way
  • 8.Lorretta
  • 9.Who Do You Love
  • 10.Waiting 'Round To Die
  • 11.Tower Song
  • 12.Lungs
  • 13.Only Him or Me

Product Description:

Recording information: Old Quarter, Austin, TX (1973).
Townes Van Zandt didn't have the strongest voice, but it was strong vehicle for his deceptively simple songs that captured the grief, despair, joy, and other ailments of the heart and soul as well as any other songwriter out there, and better than most. Classic Van Zandt songs like "Pancho & Lefty," "If I Needed You," and "Tecumseh Valley" are timeless because Van Zandt wrote them that way, and his wounded, gentle vocals when he sang them bring out the emotional depths in each. This live, two-disc set, which includes fine versions of all the above songs, is a good introduction to Van Zandt's art and style -- he recorded several live sets before his death in 1997 and none are better balanced than this one, which features just Van Zandt's vocals and acoustic guitar. The same performance was released in 1994 by Rhino Records as Live at the Old Quarter, although the sequence is different here and the spoken intro is omitted, but it is otherwise the same set with the same songs. ~ Steve Leggett
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,265
  • UPC: 883717400208
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)