The Innocence Mission Now the Day Is Over

Uncut: 3 stars out of 5 - "[I]t's ideal lullaby, comfort music, extra warmth courtesy of Don's suspended-in-air guitar lines."
Get email alerts for The Innocence Mission
31 ratings
Price: $14.50
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $0.48 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
13 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  36YDX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 9, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Badman Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.148
3 stars out of 5 - "[I]t's ideal lullaby, comfort music, extra warmth courtesy of Don's suspended-in-air guitar lines."


  • 1.Stay Awake
  • 2.Over The Rainbow
  • 3.What A Wonderful World
  • 4.Moon River
  • 5.Somewhere A Star Shines For Everyone
  • 6.Prelude In A
  • 7.Once Upon A Summertime
  • 8.My Love Goes With You
  • 9.Edelweiss
  • 10.Sonata No. 8
  • 11.Bye-Lo
  • 12.It Is Well With My Soul
  • 13.Now The Day Is Over

Product Description:

Personnel: Karen Peris (vocals, guitar, piano, pump organ); Don Peris (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, nylon-string guitar); Mike Bitt (double bass).
Audio Mixer: Don Peris.
Photographers: Don Peris; Karen Peris.
This is a nice changeup. The Innocence Mission return with a benefit collection of cover songs that are all centered reverie akin to dreaming. Calling them all lullabies would be stretching a little bit, but the presentations are such that they might as well be. Don and Karen Peris and bassist Mike Bitts craft an absolutely beguiling collection of standards. The readings of "Over the Rainbow," "Wonderful World," and "Moon River" form a gorgeous sequence. The inclusion of an instrumental, Chopin's Prelude in A, is a choice moment as well (played beautifully by Don), and is followed by a haunting, nostalgic version of Michel Legrand's "Once Upon a Summertime." The one original on the set, Karen's "My Love Goes With You," is a lullaby proper and is perhaps the most beautiful and tender song on the outing. That it's followed by "Edelweiss" is only fitting. The title track is, appropriately, the set's closer. Peris' wispy vocal carries the fleeting traces of daylight into the mix, ushering in a time of silence and magic. This could have been merely a curiosity piece, a curious addition to a mysterious catalog by a singular group. Instead, it is nothing less than a wondrous little gem. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,713
  • UPC: 655037095224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.13/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)