The Tractors Farmers in a Changing World

Farmers in a Changing World
Get email alerts for The Tractors
17 ratings
Price: $8.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $1 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  36YA6
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 25, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Audium Entertainment

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 4/99, p.107
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...a chugging beat, fiercely understated picking and melodies so simple they verge on the profound..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 4/99, p.116
"...The breathtaking drive of the band dervies from the solidest rhythm section currently cutting records....the essence of country-boogie..."


  • 1.I Wouldn't Tell You No Lie
  • 2.Linda Lou
  • 3.How Long Will It Take
  • 4.Shortenin' Bread
  • 5.The World's Biggest Fool
  • 6.Poor Boy Shuffle
  • 7.With a Girl Like You
  • 8.The Elvis Thing
  • 9.Way Too Late
  • 10.Foot Stomp Stompin'
  • 11.Hale Bop Boogie - (bonus track)

Product Description:

The Tractors: Steve Ripley (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Walt Richmond (vocals, accordion, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond B-3 organ, bass drum, feet); Ron Getman (acoustic & electric, steel & lap steel guitars, dobro, mandolin, trumpet, background vocals); Casey Van Beek (tenor saxophone, bass, background vocals); Jamie Oldaker (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Leon Russell (vocals); Eldon Shamblin (spoken vocals, electric guitar); Elvis Ripley (guitar, piano); Scotty Moore, James Burton (electric guitar); Bonnie Raitt (slide guitar); Fats Kaplin (steel guitar, fiddle); Curley Lewis (fiddle); D.J. Fontana (drums).
Principally recorded at The Church Studio, Tulsa, Oklahoma.
Three years after their second album, the Tractors finally return with FARMERS IN A CHANGING WORLD. The Tractors' music combines country, rock, boogie-woogie, shuffle and New Orleans groove, serving it up via singer Steve Ripley's distinctive growl. Like their previous albums, FARMERS is a raw, loose-limbed collection of songs custom-made for grooving on the dance floor. Quite a few of the tracks recall the band's super-cool 1994 debut single "Baby Likes To Rock It," including "Poor Boy Shuffle" and "Linda Lou" (both with Bonnie Raitt on slide guitar) and "Foot Stomp Stompin'" (with Leon Russell).
A standout is "The Elvis Thing," a song explaining how Elvis changed America, featuring the King's real-life band--Scotty Moore, D.J. Fontana and James Burton. The song that best sums up the Tractors' view of the world, though, is a hidden track buried three minutes after the end of the "last" song on the CD. It's a cool little number about the Heaven's Gate Cult called "The Hale-Bopp Boogie." For the Tractors, nothing is so serious that you can't dance to it.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 684038817528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)