COVID-19: We have resumed very limited warehouse and shipping operations. Please see here for details.
Get email alerts for Sarah Brightman
206 ratings
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $0.88 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  K5JD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 10, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Angel Records


  • 1.Harem
  • 2.What A Wonderful World
  • 3.It's A Beautiful Day (after Puccini's Un bel d?)
  • 4.What You Never Know
  • 5.Bombay Dreams, musical play: The Journey Home
  • 6.Free
  • 7.Mysterious Days
  • 8.The War Is Over Now
  • 9.Misere Mei (after Alegri)
  • 10.Beautiful
  • 11.Arabian Nights
  • 12.Kismet, musical (after works by Alexander Borodin): Stranger In Paradise
  • 13.Until The End Of Time
  • 14.You Take My Breath Away

Product Description:

Personnel: Sarah Brightman (vocals, keyboards); Adam Klemens, Adrian Partington (conductor); Peter Weihe (guitar, sitar); Jin Burda (mandolin); Lukas Hilbert (sitar); Nigel Kennedy (violin); Amir Abdel Magid (kanoun); Reda Bdir (nay); Michael Soltau (piano, keyboards, programming); Stephan Moccio (piano); Frank Peterson (keyboards, percussion, programming, background vocals); Matthias Meissner (keyboards); Trevor Barry (bass); Frosty Beedle (drums); Kuljid Bhamra (tabla); Rony Barrak (percussion); Christian Draude (programming); The Bach Choir, Jaz Coleman, Violet (background vocals); The Prague Symphony Orchestra, The London Symphony Orchestra.
Adapters: Frank Peterson ; Christopher von Deylen; Sarah Brightman.
Personnel: Sarah Brightman (vocals, keyboards, background vocals); Shweta Shetty, Jaz Coleman, Natacha Atlas (vocals); Peter Weihe (guitar, sitar); Amir Abdel Magid (kanun); Jiri Burda (mandolin); Lukas Hilbert (electric sitar, background vocals); Abdel Al Aboud, Nigel Kennedy (violin); Dr. Reda Bedaire (nay); Michael Soltau (piano, keyboards, programming); Stephan Moccio (piano); Frank Peterson (keyboards, percussion, programming, background vocals); Matthias Meissner (keyboards, programming); Martin Frosty Beedle (drums); Rony Barrak (percussion); Christian Draude (programming); Gunther Laudahn (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Frank Peterson ; Michael Soltau; Mick Guzauski; Tom Lord-Alge.
Recording information: 2002-2003.
Photographer: Simon Fowler .
Unknown Contributor Role: Sue Mallett.
Listening to HAREM, it's hard to believe that multifarious pop diva Sarah Brightman first came to fame as a proponent of musical theater (not counting her early stint with dance-pop group Hot Gossip). After going through a number of stylistic shifts over the years, she has arrived at an unusual point where her sound evokes a strange confluence of Charlotte Church, Enya, and Madonna. Given the "Arabian Nights" sub-theme of the album, you might even throw in a little "Desert Rose"-era Sting as well.
HAREM veers between ethereal, almost New Age-like moments, operatic flurries, percolating dance beats, and some accessible Eastern-flavored exoticism. Through it all, Brightman's Broadway past occasionally pops up, as on her orchestra-accompanied version of the standard "Stranger in Paradise," which is itself based on a classical theme. In fact, the orchestra pops up throughout the album, playing arrangements by former Killing Joke member Jaz Coleman, who's surely ventured as far afield from his origins by this point as Ms. Brightman.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 116,558
  • UPC: 724353718022
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Our Call Center is temporarily closed due to COVID-19 restrictions.