M. Ward Duet for Guitars #2 [Bonus Tracks]

Spin: 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] collection of stripped-down love songs swathed in tape hiss that owe much to mid-'70s Neil Young."
Get email alerts for M. Ward
12 ratings
Price: $12.70
You Save: $0.28 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  C3W4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 10, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2018
  • Label: Merge Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.124
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] collection of stripped-down love songs swathed in tape hiss that owe much to mid-'70s Neil Young."


  • 1.Duet for Guitars No. 2
  • 2.Beautiful Car
  • 3.Fishing Boat Song
  • 4.Scene from No. 12
  • 5.Good News
  • 6.The Crooked Spine
  • 7.Look Me Over
  • 8.Who May Be Lazy
  • 9.It Won't Happen Twice
  • 10.He Asked Me to Be a Snake & Live Underground
  • 11.Song from Debby's Stairs
  • 12.It Was a Beautiful Car
  • 13.Were You There?
  • 14.Not a Gang
  • 15.Duet for Guitars No. 1

Product Description:

Personnel: M. Ward (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Carlos Forster (vocals); Adam Selzer (dulcimer, mandolin, percussion).
in 2007, Merge came through with a long-overdue reissue of M. Ward's debut, DUETS FOR GUITAR #2, which finds Ward's recipe--a unique one built on open-chord folk, jazzy vocal phrasing, and indie rock arrangements--almost startlingly fully formed. While his approach reached peak form on 2006's stand-out POST-WAR, here he sounds hungrier, and it lends the songs a rawer, more human feel.
First self-released and then picked up by Howie Gelb's label Ow-Ow in 2000, the album focuses mostly on acoustic musings such as "Good News," "Song From Debby's Stairs," and "Were You There," which feature Ward's undeniably accomplished guitar picking and breezy vocal husk, but breaks up the sequence with the occasional crunchy rocker ("Look Me Over"). Since DUETS, Ward's songs have helped hawk Cadillacs and he's toured the world with Norah Jones, but this reissue shows what impressed in the first place: ace songwriting, impeccable guitar chops, and a voice that simultaneously soothes and haunts.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 100,581
  • UPC: 673855030128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)