Putumayo Presents: New Orleans
by Various Artists

9 ratings
Price: $14.50
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $0.48 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  364V9
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 25, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Putumayo World Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.59
"Traditional jazz is what's flowing here with the majority of modern-day selections stemming from Ruffins and his contemporaries, who keep the flame burning when it's practically charred ashes in a Yankee land."


  • 1.Drop Me Off in New Orleans - Kermit Ruffins
  • 2.I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues - Doc Cheatham / Nicholas Payton
  • 3.Basin Street Blues - Louis Prima
  • 4.Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams - Preservation Hall Hot 4/Duke Dejan
  • 5.Baby Won't You Please Come Home - Topsy Chapman / The Pros
  • 6.Devil Done Got Me Blues, The - Kevin Clark / The Jazz Revelation
  • 7.Tin Roof Blues - Louis Armstrong
  • 8.Basin Street Blues - Dr. John
  • 9.Give It up (Gypsy Second Line) - Dr. Michael White
  • 10.Going Back to New Orleans - Deacon John
  • 11.Bye & Bye / Saints - Gregg Stafford / Dr. Michael White

Product Description:

Putumayo provides a nice introduction to Nawlins jazz here, with a pretty good mix of the classic and the contemporary. The music remains, despite its era or performer, fully of the New Orleans style. The patron saint of the city, as well as the genre, Louis Armstrong, is presented with one of his later recordings with an all-star band in 1966 (it's somewhat disappointing not to hear the Hot Fives or Sevens, but this one still ain't bad). Other mainstays of the city are here as well, with Dr. John playing "Basin Street Blues" as only he could, following a rendition of the same song by Louis Prima. Doc Cheatham's here with some classic vocals as well. Beyond the well-known, though, there are some members of the newer groups of influence here. Kermit Ruffins has become a contemporary revivalist of the old sound and starts off the album as such. Kevin Clark and Michael White provide contemporary versions of the classic style as well. Through and through, it's a fine introduction to a given genre. It's surprising not to hear anything from the Nevilles or the Marsalis royalty, but what's here is fine listening. ~ Adam Greenberg

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 29,834
  • UPC: 790248023229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)