Wall of Sound: The Very Best of Phil Spector 1961-1966
by Phil Spector / Various Artists

Get email alerts for Phil Spector
16 ratings
Price: $10
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  GWK6
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 22, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Sony Legacy


  • 1.He's a Rebel - The Crystals
  • 2.Da Doo Ron Ron - The Crystals
  • 3.Be My Baby - The Ronettes
  • 4.Then He Kissed Me - The Crystals
  • 5.(Today I Met) The Boy I'm Gonna Marry - Darlene Love
  • 6.Baby, I Love You - The Ronettes
  • 7.He's Sure the Boy I Love - The Crystals
  • 8.Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah - Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans
  • 9.Wait Til' My Bobby Gets Home - Darlene Love
  • 10.Walking in the Rain - The Ronettes
  • 11.Uptown - The Crystals
  • 12.Why Do Lovers Break Each Others Hearts? - Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans
  • 13.Do I Love You? - The Ronettes
  • 14.A Fine, Fine Boy - Darlene Love
  • 15.There's No Other Like My Baby - The Crystals
  • 16.You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling - The Righteous Brothers
  • 17.(The Best Part Of) Breakin' Up - The Ronettes
  • 18.Not Too Young to Get Married - Bob B. Soxx & The Blue Jeans
  • 19.River Deep, Mountain High - Ike & Tina Turner

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Jim Bessman.
Recording information: Gold Star Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/1962-03/1966); Mira Sound Studios, New York, NY (08/1962-03/1966); Gold Star Studios, Hollywood, CA (09/??/1961-02/08/1962); Mira Sound Studios, New York, NY (09/??/1961-02/08/1962).
Photographers: Michael Ochs; Ray Avery; Barry Oliver.
Phil Spector was really more of a back-tier session musician, songwriter, and occasional producer when he started his own Philles Records imprint in 1961. He had some success, having written, played guitar, and sung backup vocals on 1958's "To Know Him Is to Love Him" (which hit the top of the pop charts that year) as part of the Teddy Bears and he worked for a time as part of the production team for Leiber & Stoller, co-writing "Spanish Harlem" for Ben E. King and playing guitar on the Drifters' "On Broadway," and he produced minor sides for LaVern Baker and Ruth Brown, among others, but there was really little to distinguish him from any number of other hopefuls clustered around the pop music scene as the 1960s dawned. But Spector was driven, single-minded, and stubborn, and he had a sound in his head. Now with his own label, he set out to record a series of singles he termed "little symphonies for the kids" that are among the most distinctive and influential recordings in the history of pop music. Combining massed pianos, guitars, string arrangements by Jack Nitzsche, tons of layered percussion, and huge washes of echo, working with the West Coast's best session players (including Hal Blaine, Tommy Tedesco, Larry Knechtel, Leon Russell, and Harold Battiste -- the so-called Wrecking Crew), and leaning heavily on his engineer Larry Levine to catch all of this in the small confines of Gold Star Studios in Los Angeles, Spector developed his "Wall of Sound" production approach, controlling every aspect of the recordings until, even though he wasn't singing or even playing any instrument, they became -- in essence -- Phil Spector records. This is not to diminish the singers he used -- Ronnie Bennett, Darlene Love, Tina Turner, and the Righteous Brothers, among others -- but a Spector recording in the 1960s was just that, a Spector recording. This 19-track set collects the best of his Philles releases, including the classics "He's a Rebel," "Da Doo Ron Ron," and "There's No Other Like My Baby" by the Crystals, "Be My Baby," "Baby, I Love You," "Walking in the Rain," and "(The Best Part Of) Breakin' Up" by the Ronettes, the Righteous Brothers' "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling," and Ike & Tina Turner's "River Deep, Mountain High." Spector amassed a singular catalog at Philles between 1961 and 1966 and his legacy will always be linked to it -- for those five years, there was no one on earth making better-sounding pop records. The proof of that is collected here. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
thats music Music Lover: from MONTREAL, QC CA -- May, 28, 2013

very good song remember so many thing its was the good time the sound as been remastered good to ear

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 24,745
  • UPC: 886976129422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)