Stan Getz Complete Roost Sessions (3-CD) [Import]

Complete Roost Sessions (3-CD) [Import]
Get email alerts for Stan Getz
Sale: $17.98
WINTER SALE: $14.38 Limited Time Only
List Price: $39.98
You Save: $25.60 (64% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  ZHUS 22839
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 11, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Jazz Factory

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.On the Alamo
  • 2.Gone With the Wind
  • 3.Yesterdays
  • 4.Sweetie Pie
  • 5.You Go to My Head
  • 6.Hershey Bar
  • 7.Tootsie Roll
  • 8.Strike up the Band
  • 9.Imagination
  • 10.For Stompers Only
  • 11.Out of Nowhere
  • 12.'S Wonderful
  • 13.Penny
  • 14.Split Kick
  • 15.It Might as Well Be Spring
  • 16.The Best Thing For You
  • 17.On the Alamo
  • 18.Imagination
  • 19.Navy Blue (For Stompers Only)
  • 20.Split Kick
  • 21.It Might as Well Be Spring

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Melody Express
  • 2.Yvette
  • 3.Potter's Luck
  • 4.The Song Is You
  • 5.Wildwood
  • 6.Where or When
  • 7.Tabu
  • 8.Moonlight in Vermont
  • 9.Jaguar
  • 10.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • 11.Stars Fell on Alabama
  • 12.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 13.Tenderly
  • 14.Lullaby of Birdland
  • 15.Autumn Leaves
  • 16.Fools Rush In
  • 17.These Foolish Things
  • 18.Autumn Leaves
  • 19.Fools Rush In
  • 20.You're Driving Me Crazy
  • 21.Lover Come Back to Me
  • 22.Ain't Nobody's Bizz-Ness If I Do
  • 23.Signal
  • 24.Budo

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Budo
  • 2.The Song Is You
  • 3.Parker 51
  • 4.Mosquito Knees
  • 5.Thou Swell
  • 6.Yesterdays
  • 7.Jumpin' With Symphony Sid
  • 8.Pennies From Heaven
  • 9.Move
  • 10.Rubberneck
  • 11.Hershey Bar
  • 12.Signal
  • 13.Everything Happens to Me
  • 14.Wildwood

Product Description:

Personnel: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Al Haig, Horace Silver (piano); Tommy Potter, Joe Calloway (bass); Roy Haynes, Walt Bolden (drums).
Producer: Teddy Reig.
Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
Recorded in New York, New York on May 17 and December 10, 1950 and March 1, 1951. Includes liner notes by Alun Morgan.
THE COMPLETE ROOST RECORDINGS contains Stan Getz's work on Roost Records including previously unreleased material and alternate takes.
Personnel includes: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Al Haig, Horace Silver, Jimmy Raney, Jimmy Smith, Count Basie.
Personnel includes: Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Billie Holiday (vocals); Al Haig, Horace Silver, Duke Jordan Sanfold Gold, Jimmy Raney (piano); Johnny Smith Tommy Potter, Joe Gallaway, Leonard Gaskin, Eddie Safranski (guitar); Bob Carter, Roy Haynes, Walter Bolden, Don Lamond (drums).
The Complete Roost Studio Sessions is a three-disc, 59-track box set that contains most, but not all, of the recordings Stan Getz made for the label in the '50s. Alternate and unused takes -- issued on similar collections of the material -- are not included here, nor are the live dates he appeared on with Count Basie, or the sides he cut for the imprint with Johnny Smith as a leader. That said, the master takes offer proof of Getz arriving on the scene with his tone fully developed and his hard-swinging bop style in place. His ability to firmly command a session is also on display, making this a stellar set for those jazz fans not interested in multiple takes of a particular tune or the live material with Basie. Those listeners would be advised to seek out The Complete Roost Recordings on Roulette. ~ Thom Jurek
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,357
  • UPC: 793515283920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)