Badfinger Straight Up (Remastered)

Straight Up (Remastered)
Get email alerts for Badfinger
69 ratings
Sale: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.90 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 7 copies left
sku:  Y5C3
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 6/93, p.115
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Poignantly written, brimming with mature melodies and bracing verse/chorus interplay, STRAIGHT UP is one not to miss. More complete than their other long-play selections and resplendent with previously unheard gems, it's quality stuff..."
Uncut - p.112
4 stars out of 5 -- "Badfinger wrote sad and beautiful songs...and these excellent remasters show the care they took over each harmony, each strum of their guitars."
NME (Magazine) - 6/5/93, p.34
"...A stone cold beauty of an impossibly good album....Love it like your mother..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.90
4 stars out of 4 -- "STRAIGHT UP was Badfinger's most consistent Apple outing, due in part to its economy of instrumentation."


  • 1.Take It All
  • 2.Baby Blue
  • 3.Money
  • 4.Flying
  • 5.I'd Die Babe
  • 6.Name of the Game
  • 7.Suitcase
  • 8.Sweet Tuesday
  • 9.Day After Day
  • 10.Sometimes
  • 11.Perfection
  • 12.It's Over
  • 13.I'll Be the One
  • 14.Name of the Game [Earlier Version]
  • 15.Baby Blue [U.S. Single Mix]
  • 16.Baby Please [Previously Unreleased]
  • 17.No Good At All [Previously Unreleased]
  • 18.Sing For the Song [Previously Unreleased]

Product Description:

Audio Remasterers: Sam O'Kell; Steve Rooke; Guy Massey.
Liner Note Author: Andy Davis .
Recording information: AIR, Abbey Road; Command Studios, London.
Photographer: Richard DiLello.
STRAIGHT UP is Badfinger's best-known album and perhaps the definitive example of their sparkling brand of Beatles-influenced pop. Expertly produced by George Harrison and Todd Rundgren, this 1972 album spawned two hit singles (both written by group leader Pete Ham): the romantic ballad "Day After Day" (Badfinger's only gold record) and "Baby Blue," a soaring power pop classic that is still regularly played on rock radio. Most people remember Badfinger for those two songs, but the 10 other tracks on STRAIGHT UP are equally impressive.
Less rock-oriented than their previous album NO DICE (although guitarist Joey Molland contributes several excellent high-energy rock songs like "Sometimes" and "Suitcase"), the majority of STRAIGHT UP consists of gentle, melodic songs like Molland's folkish "Sweet Tuesday Morning" and superb Pete Ham compositions like the epic existentialist ballad "Name Of The Game." Now reissued with alternate versions of five of the album's songs and a rare single version of "Baby Blue," STRAIGHT UP sounds better than ever and is an essential addition to any rock fan's music collection.
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,462
  • UPC: 5099964244020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)