COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

John Lennon Power to the People: The Hits

Get email alerts for John Lennon
21 ratings
SALE: $6.98
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $10 (59% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZXRI 6640
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 4, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Capitol

Description by

2010 collection of solo recordings from the former Beatle, released to coincide with what would have been his 70th birthday. Power To The People: The Hits gathers 15 of Lennon's most popular songs, digitally remastered and restored to John's original audio mixes.


  • 1.Power To The People
  • 2.Gimme Some Truth
  • 3.Woman
  • 4.Instant Karma (We All Shine On)
  • 5.Whatever Gets You Thru The Night
  • 6.Cold Turkey
  • 7.Jealous Guy
  • 8.#9 Dream
  • 9.Just Like Starting Over
  • 10.Mind Games
  • 11.Watching The Wheels
  • 12.Stand By Me
  • 13.Imagine
  • 14.Happy Xmas (War Is Over)
  • 15.Give Peace A Chance

Product Description:

Photographers: Bob Gruen; Peter Fordham.
Released as part of Apple/EMI's extensive 2010 John Lennon remasters series, the single-disc Power to the People: The Hits covers familiar territory, but then again, that's the point of this collection. It's not designed to dig deep into John's catalog, it's designed as the latest iteration of the canon, replacing 1997's Lennon Legend, the last big-budget single-disc compilation. Power to the People is five cuts shorter than Lennon Legend, ditching album cuts "Love" and "Borrowed Time," swapping the charting singles, "Mother" and "Nobody Told Me," for the non-charting "Gimme Some Truth" and the actual number 18 hit "Mind Games," but the end result is the same: Power to the People feels interchangeable with its predecessors because it is another collection with "Imagine," "Instant Karma," "Whatever Gets You Through the Night," "Jealous Guy," "(Just Like) Starting Over," "Watching the Wheels," "Stand by Me," "#9 Dream," "Give Peace a Chance," "Power to the People," and "Happy Xmas (War Is Over)." The remasters are excellent so if you are in need of a tight Lennon comp this is a good choice but if you already have a hits collection, there's no reason to replace it. [There is also a Deluxe Edition of Power to the People which contains videos for all 15 songs, some of them original clips and some of them edits of footage assembled after the single's initial release.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 5099990664021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)