Gamma Ray Empire of the Undead

Get email alerts for Gamma Ray
Price: $21.70
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $1.29 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  6KF3D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 17, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Imports


  • 1.Avalon
  • 2.Hellbent
  • 3.Pale Rider
  • 4.Born To Fly
  • 5.Master Of Confusion
  • 6.Empire Of The Undead
  • 7.Time For Deliverance
  • 8.Demonseed
  • 9.Seven
  • 10.I Will Return
  • 11.Built A World (European Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Although the time between releases might be getting longer, after 25 years the stalwart German power metal outfit Gamma Ray are still going strong, delivering a vigorous performance on their 11th album, Empire of the Undead. While the album's title might evoke the walking dead, an image of a phoenix rising from the ashes feels more appropriate after the album had to be rescued from a fire that claimed Gamma Ray's own Hammer Studios while they were out on tour. Despite the tragedy, the power metal pioneers bounce back wonderfully with an album that shows all the polish that fans of the band have come to expect over the last couple of decades. That said, however, it's not as though Gamma Ray have completely escaped the ravages of time, and while much of the playing on the album is rock-solid, Kai Hansen's voice isn't quite as strong as it used to be. Being a consummate professional, though, Hansen makes it work for him. On the Queen-esque rocker "Time for Deliverance," the occasional crack in the singer's voice lends an air of vulnerability to the band's stately sound. Empire of the Undead isn't going to raise any eyebrows with its innovativeness, but given Gamma Ray's place near the top of the power metal family tree, the album's tight writing and expert execution make it easy to cut the band some slack. All in all, Empire of the Undead is a fine entry in the group's expansive catalog, and since the album's very existence is a minor miracle, longtime fans of the band should have few complaints. ~ Gregory Heaney

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 7798019245859
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)