Björk Telegram (180GV-DMM)

Rolling Stone: 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...TELEGRAM is no slapdash effort; Bjork recorded new vocals for many of the songs and collaborated with a well-chosen array of artists from the avant-garde and electronic worlds..."
Telegram (180GV-DMM)
Get email alerts for Björk
78 ratings
Price: $30.40
List Price: $34.99
You Save: $4.59 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
12 copies available
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  66ARJ
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: September 6, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: One Little Indian Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/23/97, pp.63-67
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...TELEGRAM is no slapdash effort; Bjork recorded new vocals for many of the songs and collaborated with a well-chosen array of artists from the avant-garde and electronic worlds..."
Spin - 3/97, pp.101-102
7 (out of 10) - "...Ultimately, TELEGRAM isn't so much an admission that POST wasn't commercially viable as an attempt to make the album more of what it already is, letting the songs breathe in a slightly different way for those of us back here in the 20th century."
Entertainment Weekly - 1/17/97, p.64
"...It's a post-POST disc of inventive rethinking...Ambient and gutsy, Bjork's old-new product defines creative elasticity." - Rating: B+
Option - 5-6/97, pp.94-95
"...As with the best remix albums, this one easily stands on its own, each track deconstructed then put back together in sometimes radical ways..."
Musician - 3/97, p.87
"...a clever idea that engenders some vitally creative--or at least vitally re-creative--music....she makes the original material sound warmer and more organic..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Possibly Maybe (Lucy Mix)
  • 2.Hyperballad (Brodsky Quartet Version)
  • 3.Enjoy (Further Over The Edge Mix)
  • 7.You've Been Flirting Again (Flirt Is A Promise Mix)
  • 8.Cover Me (Dillinja Mix)
  • 9.Army Of Me (Massey Mix)
  • 10.Headphones (Ø Remix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 4.My Spine
  • 5.I Miss You (Dobie Rub Part One - Sunshine Mix)
  • 6.Isobel (Deodato Mix)

Product Description:

TELEGRAM is a remix album, with altered versions of nine songs from POST and one new song.
Personnel includes: Bjork (vocals, organ); Eumir Deodato (conductor); Rodney P (rap vocals); Nestor Garcia (acoustic guitar); Rob Montoro, Graham Massey (guitar); Luciano Iorio, Rob Smissen (viola); Robin Firman, Tony Pleeth (cello); Gary Barnacle (soprano saxophone); Stuart Brooks (trumpet); John Crawford (keyboards); Nico Gomez (bass); David Giovannini (drums); Peter Locket (conga); Evelyn Glennie (exhaust pipes); Luis Jardim, Talvin Singh (percussion); Markus Dravs (sound effects); Howie Bernstein (programming); Brodsky Quartet.
Producers include: Bjork, Nellee Hooper, Tricky, Howie B, Eumir Deodato.
TELEGRAM finds Bjork and her comrades polishing the rusty surfaces of pop music, creating new musical formations that glimmer and shine. These songs have been redecorated with the gracious elan that we have come to expect from this charismatic chanteuse. New installations of drum-and-bass textures, orchestral arrangements, trip-hop beats and hip-hop samples are overlaid on the songs from POST, building upon their subtle post-modern beauty.
The Brodksy Quartet offers a modern-classical intepretation of "Hyperballad." "You're Flirting Again" gains a lush orchestration. "Headphones," by contrast, now features a sparse, tundra-like soundscape. The one new song, "My Spine," features Bjork crooning over a primitive backdrop of mystical chimes and bells, creating an organic incantation that sounds miles away from any territory that pop music has traversed thus far.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 50,433
  • UPC: 827954005147
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)