Sonny Clark Sonny's Conception (4-CD Box Set)

Get email alerts for Sonny Clark
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $11.01 (48% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  ZPRB 161
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: July 25, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.111
3 stars out of 5 -- "His bubbling lines had a propulsive elegance, an almost dancing quality....Clark had a rhythmic grace that kept you listening."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.93
4 stars out of 5 -- "His remarkable late 50s output for Blue Note comprises the lion's share of ace retrospective..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Improvisation No. 1
  • 2.All God's Chillun Got Rhythm
  • 3.Body and Soul / Jeepers Creepers
  • 4.Improvisation No. 2/Over the Rainbow
  • 5.Move
  • 6.Oslo
  • 7.After You've Gone
  • 8.Once in a While
  • 9.Dial "S" for Sonny
  • 10.Bootin' It
  • 11.It Could Happen to You
  • 12.Sonny's Mood

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Shoutin' on a Riff
  • 2.Love Walked In
  • 3.News for Lulu
  • 4.Sonny's Crib
  • 5.Speak Low
  • 6.With a Song in My Heart
  • 7.Come Rain or Come Shine
  • 8.I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • 9.Two Bass Hit

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Bebop
  • 2.Tadd's Delight
  • 3.Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise
  • 4.I'll Remember April
  • 5.Cool Struttin'
  • 6.Blue Minor
  • 7.Sippin' at Bells
  • 8.Deep Velvet
  • 9.Black Velvet

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.I'm Just a Lucky So and So
  • 2.Gee Baby Ain't I Good to You?
  • 3.Ain't No Use
  • 4.The Breeze and I
  • 5.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 6.Minor Meeting
  • 7.Nica
  • 8.Sonny's Crib
  • 9.Blues Mambo
  • 10.Blues Blue
  • 11.Junka
  • 12.My Conception
  • 13.Sonja

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Joop Visser.
Recording information: Hackensack (01/15/1954/01/16/1954); New York (01/15/1954/01/16/1954); Oslo (01/15/1954/01/16/1954); Paris (01/15/1954/01/16/1954); Hackensack (02/06/1954); New York (02/06/1954); Oslo (02/06/1954); Paris (02/06/1954); Hackensack (03/23/1960); New York (03/23/1960); Oslo (03/23/1960); Paris (03/23/1960); Hackensack (07/21/1957-11/16/1958); New York (07/21/1957-11/16/1958); Oslo (07/21/1957-11/16/1958); Paris (07/21/1957-11/16/1958).
This budget-priced four-disc Proper box includes four previously released single Sonny Clark volumes -- themselves reissues -- packaged in a slipcase. Proper's single-volume titles were Sonny's Mood, Sonny's Bop, Cool Sonny, and Sonny's Blues. The material, with the exception of the first seven selections on disc one (which comes from the Xanadu release The Sonny Clarke Memorial Album, a live tape of a 1954 trio date), all comes from Clark's years at Blue Note, from albums such as Dial "S" for Sonny, My Conception, Cool Struttin', and Sonny's Crib. In other words, the only reason you might be interested in purchasing this set is if you have nothing by Clark in your collection -- this is a cheap way to introduce yourself to one of the hottest jazz pianists of the 1950s. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 805520021616
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)