America The Definitive Pop Collection (2-CD)

Get email alerts for America
7 ratings
SALE: $48.98
Unavailable: Sold Out
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  ZSUR 70126
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 12, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Horse with No Name
  • 2.I Need You
  • 3.Riverside
  • 4.Sandman
  • 5.Everyone I Meet Is from California
  • 6.Ventura Highway
  • 7.Don't Cross the River
  • 8.Only in Your Heart
  • 9.To Each His Own
  • 10.Cornwall Blank
  • 11.Muskrat Love
  • 12.Green Monkey
  • 13.She's Gonna Let You Down - (Single Edit)
  • 14.Rainbow Song

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tin Man
  • 2.Another Try
  • 3.Lonely People
  • 4.Hollywood
  • 5.Baby It's Up to You
  • 6.Old Man Took
  • 7.Sister Golden Hair
  • 8.Daisy Jane
  • 9.Woman Tonight
  • 10.Today's the Day
  • 11.Amber Cascades
  • 12.Jet Boy Blue
  • 13.Watership Down
  • 14.God of the Sun
  • 15.Sergeant Darkness
  • 16.Sarah

Product Description:

Personnel: Dan Peek, Gerry Beckley (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards, bass guitar, background vocals); Dewey Bunnell (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Clydie King, Jessica Smith (vocals); Joe Walsh (guitar); Henry Diltz (banjo); Tom Scott (saxophone); Jim Ed Norman (piano); Robert Margouleff (synthesizer); Hal Blaine, Willie Leacox (drums, percussion); Dave Attwood, Kim Haworth (drums); Chet McCracken (congas); Tom Walsh , Ray Cooper (percussion).
Recording information: Air Studios, London, England; Caribou Ranch, Nederland, CO; Ka Lae Kiki Kauai, Ha; Morgan Sound Studios, London, England; Record Plant, Los Angeles, CA; Record Plant, Sausalito, CA; Trident Sound Studios, London, England.
Arrangers: George Martin; Jim Ed Norman.
For this thorough 2006 collection, Rhino Records compiled the finest songs by America onto two discs. The chronologically ordered 30-track set wisely focuses on the folk-rock group's 1970s heyday, beginning with that notorious dose of Neil Young-worship that is "A Horse with No Name" and moving on to lesser-known tunes such as the plaintive "Sandman" and the delicate "Tin Man," all of which showcase the ensemble's breezy vocal harmonies and light acoustic arrangements. While there are more concise America compilations available, this anthology is ideal for listeners wanting more than just the hits.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 081227759728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)