Dick Wellstood Dick Wellstood and His All-Star Orchestra Featuring Kenny Davern Plus The Blue Three

Dick Wellstood and His All-Star Orchestra
Get email alerts for Dick Wellstood
3 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.36 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.99
You Save: $1.63 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
sku:  34V7J
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 6, 1995
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Chiaroscuro Records

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - 5/93, p.77
"...There are no more singular, individualistic players than the late Dick Wellstood and the wry and alive Kenny Davern....This is strongly and warmly recommended musical fare."


  • 1.Fast as a Bastard
  • 2.Winin' Boy
  • 3.Wild Man Blues
  • 4.Georgia on My Mind
  • 5.Smiles
  • 6.Sweet Subsitute
  • 7.Once in Ahwile
  • 8.Liza
  • 9.Original Dixieland One Step
  • 10.Don't You Leave Me Here
  • 11.Tiger Rag
  • 12.Indiana
  • 13.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 14.Blue Monk
  • 15.Joshua
  • 16.Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  • 17.Oh, Peter

Product Description:

/His All-Star Orchestra/Kenny Davern/The Blue Three.
Personnel includes: Dick Wellstood; Kenny Davern; Bobby Rosengarden (drums).
Personnel: Dick Wellstood (piano); Kenny Davern (clarinet, soprano saxophone); Bobby Rosengarden (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Dan Morgenstern; William F. Buckely, Jr.
Recording information: Hanratty's, New York, NY (12/1973-??/1981); Warp Studios, New York, NY (12/1973-??/1981).
Editor: Jon Bates.
Photographer: Rollo Phlecks.
This is the Dick Wellstood CD to get. Two former LPs (Dick Wellstood and His Famous Orchestra Featuring Kenny Davern and The Blue Three at Hanratty's) have been reissued in full on this single CD which contains 78 minutes of music. The first eight selections (from 1973) feature Wellstood with soprano saxophonist Kenny Davern in a set of stirring duets while the final nine songs have a trio comprised of Wellstood, Davern (sticking to clarinet), and drummer Bobby Rosengarden. Wellstood and Davern make a perfectly compatible team, whether on surprising versions of Dixieland standards (such as "Original Dixieland One Step," "Tiger Rag," and "Indiana") or obscurities such as Eddie Condon's (not George Gershwin's) "Liza" and "Oh Peter"; the opening number is an original simply titled "Fast As a Bastard!" A highly recommended set of brilliant pre-bop hot jazz. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 126,385
  • UPC: 091454012923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)