Elton John Greatest Hits 1970-2002 (2-CD)

Q: 4 stars out of 5 - "'Your Song' and 'Daniel' are especially beautiful."
Get email alerts for Elton John
Price: $22.60
List Price: $23.99
You Save: $1.39 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  HGXF
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Related products:
Phil Collins: Hits for $11.80

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 7, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Universal Int'l

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/02, p.126
3 out of 5 - "...This reappraisal is wisely timed....He was a phenomenally talented barroom piano basher, capable of tender love, majestic showstoppers and poignant soul-searching..."
Q - 1/04, p.136
4 stars out of 5 - "'Your Song' and 'Daniel' are especially beautiful."
Uncut - 01/03, p.133
4 stars out of 5 - "...An impressive record by anyone's standards..."


  • 1.Your Song
  • 2.Tiny Dancer
  • 3.Honky Cat
  • 4.Rocket Man (I Think It's Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
  • 5.Crocodile Rock
  • 6.Daniel
  • 7.Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting
  • 8.Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  • 9.Candle In The Wind
  • 10.Bennie And The Jets
  • 11.Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me
  • 12.Bitch Is Back
  • 13.Philadelphia Freedom
  • 14.Someone Saved My Life Tonight
  • 15.Island Girl
  • 16.Don't Go Breaking My Heart (With Kik Dee)
  • 17.Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
  • 18.Blue Eyes
  • 19.I'm Still Standing
  • 20.I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues
  • 21.Sad Songs (Say So Much)
  • 22.Nikita
  • 23.Sacrifice
  • 24.One
  • 25.Can You Feel The Love Tonight?
  • 26.Circle Of Life
  • 27.Believe
  • 28.Made In England
  • 29.Something About The Way You Look Tonight
  • 30.Written In The Stars (With Leann Rimes)
  • 31.I Want Love
  • 32.This Train Don't Stop There Anymore
  • 33.Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word (With Blue)
  • 34.Are You Ready For Love

Product Description:

Initial pressings of this first edition contain a bonus disc.
Recorded between 1970 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Paul Gambaccini.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Elton John (vocals).
Audio Mixers: Clive Franks; Elton John.
Audio Remasterer: Gus Dudgeon.
Liner Note Author: Paul Gambaccini.
Arranger: Thom Bell.
Greatest Hits 1970-2002 is a nearly flawless double-disc set commemorating Elton John's three-decade career. Disc one features what may arguably be John's most essential work: Seeing songs such as "Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting," "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road," "Candle in the Wind," and "Bennie and the Jets" -- not to mention "Your Song," "Rocket Man," and "Tiny Dancer" -- lined up back to back reaffirms just how diverse, and yet universal, his songwriting talent is. Disc two finds this talent maturing gracefully into the '80s, '90s, and beyond, touching on pop gems like "Don't Go Breaking My Heart," "I'm Still Standing," and "I Guess That's Why They Call It the Blues" as well as his Lion King classic "Can You Feel the Love Tonight?" and the Aida duet "Written in the Stars" with LeAnn Rimes. The collection also finds room for the highlights of his most recent albums, including Made in England's "Believe" and "Blessed," The Big Picture's "Something About the Way You Look Tonight," and Songs from the West Coast's "This Train Don't Stop Here Anymore." For most casual fans, Greatest Hits 1970-2002 will replace the need for collections such as Greatest Hits, Greatest Hits, Vol. 2, and Greatest Hits, Vol. 3, although these collections are still worthwhile as of-their-time retrospectives of John's work. ~ Heather Phares

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,184
  • UPC: 602498657089
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)