The Prisonaires Just Walkin' in the Rain

Just Walkin' in the Rain
Get email alerts for The Prisonaires
5 ratings
Sale: $22.49
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $20.91 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $4.08 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 7 copies left
sku:  367GX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 10, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Just Walkin' In The Rain / Baby Please
  • 2.Dreaming of You
  • 3.That Chick's Too Young to Fry
  • 4.Just Walkin' in the Rain
  • 5.Baby Please
  • 6.Softly and Tenderly
  • 7.My God Is Real
  • 8.A Prisoner's Prayer
  • 9.No More Tears
  • 10.I Know
  • 11.No More Tears
  • 12.If I Were King
  • 13.I Wish
  • 14.Don't Say Tomorrow
  • 15.No More Tears
  • 16.What'll You Do Next
  • 17.There Is Love in You
  • 18.What'll You Do Next
  • 19.Two Strangers
  • 20.What About Frank Clement
  • 21.Friends Call Me a Fool
  • 22.Lucille, I Want You
  • 23.Surleen
  • 24.All Alone and Lonely
  • 25.Rockin' Horse

Product Description:

This collection consists of 26 tracks originally released by Sun Records between 1953 and 1955. The 28-page booklet contains the group's history and session notes.
Although the Prisonaires are remembered for the song "Just Walkin in the Rain," this collection proves that they were a fine pop/gospel group. Johnny Bragg was a huge fan of the Ink Spots and their lead singer, Bill Kenny, and it's no wonder that much of the material on this disc has that smooth crooning style favored by pre-rock & roll vocal groups. This typically well-researched and documented Bear Family disc includes all of the Sun recordings and unreleased material, which shows the group attempting some hard-ass R&B (e.g., "Surleen" and "Rocking Horse") with mixed results. In terms of their overall output, it's the early stuff that's really compelling, as the Prisonaires proved that they could sing with the best of the vocal groups of the era. Nothing is as good as the title track, but that's a song for the ages, a beautiful piece of pop loneliness infused with near palpable heartbreak. Fans of this type of old-style harmony singing shouldn't pass this up. ~ John Dougan

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
You HAVE to Read the Book About this Group Music Lover: from Gulfport, FL US -- May, 6, 2010

Right here on is a book about this group (all prisoners during the time of the recordings). I'm reading it now.

This is the link:

Great story. Now I have to comb through my collection and see what songs I have floating around by these guys.

Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,404
  • UPC: 4000127155238
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)