Kenny Rankin Like a Seed

Like a Seed
Get email alerts for Kenny Rankin
12 ratings
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  Y6XD
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 16, 2010
  • Originally Released: 1972
  • Label: Sly Dog Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - p.69
3 stars out of 5 -- "His singing is more soulful, more relaxed, hinting at the jazzier styles he was heading toward."
JazzTimes - p.79
"[With] a remake of 'Peaceful,' that placed him more squarely into the emergent singer-songwriter culture while simultaneously exposing the sophistication of his arrangements and musicianship."


  • 1.Like A Seed
  • 2.Yesterday's Lies
  • 3.Peaceful
  • 4.Sometimes
  • 5.Comin' Down
  • 6.Stringman
  • 7.Eartheart
  • 8.Bad Times Make You Strong
  • 9.You Are My Woman
  • 10.I Was Born
  • 11.If I Should Go To Pray

Product Description:

Personnel: Kenny Rankin (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Mike Deasy (guitar, saxophone, background vocals); Gayle Levant (harp); Ted Michel (cello); Jim Horn (flute, recorder, saxophone); Victor Feldman, Larry Knechtel (keyboards); Jim Keltner, John Guerin (drums); Gary Coleman (percussion); Kathie Deasy (background vocals).
Recording information: Clover Recording Studio; Mix-Down-RCA; RCA Recording Studios; Sunwest Recording Studios; Wally Heider Studio 4.
Photographers: Barry Feinstein; Buddy Anderson; Vicki Hodgetts.
Arranger: Mike Deasy.
On his first Little David release, Rankin almost hits full stride. His reworking of "Peaceful" brought the song, and ultimately Rankin, a wider audience. The album eschews some of the preciousness of previous efforts and has a more universal appeal. Songs like the title cut and "Stringman" spotlight Rankin's continued growth as a songwriter. His songwriting, along with his gorgeous voice and unique and jazzy acoustic guitar prowess on the record, made him one of the staples of FM radio, a trend that would continue through his next few albums. As good as the record is, it merely sets the tone for Rankin's next few recordings, which represent truly his best. ~ Steve Matteo

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,588
  • UPC: 673203300729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)