Johnny Burnette Rockbilly Boogie

Get email alerts for Johnny Burnette
31 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $17.50 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $1.49 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
14 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  367F8
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 5, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Rockabilly Boogie
  • 2.Please Don't Leave Me - (alternate take)
  • 3.Rock Therapy
  • 4.Lonesome Train (On a Lonesome Track)
  • 5.Sweet Love on My Mind
  • 6.My Love, You're a Stranger
  • 7.Your Baby Blue Eyes
  • 8.I Love You So - (alternate take)
  • 9.The Train Kept a-Rollin'
  • 10.All by Myself
  • 11.Drinking Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee
  • 12.Blues Stay Away From Me
  • 13.Honey Hush
  • 14.Lonesome Tears in My Eyes
  • 15.I Just Found Out
  • 16.Chains of Love
  • 17.Please Don't Leave Me
  • 18.Lonesome Train (On a Lonesome Track) - (alternate take)
  • 19.I Love You So
  • 20.If You Want It Enough
  • 21.Butterfingers
  • 22.Eager Beaver Baby
  • 23.Touch Me
  • 24.Tear It Up
  • 25.Oh Baby Babe
  • 26.You're Undecided
  • 27.Midnight Train
  • 28.Shattered Dreams

Product Description:

ROCKABILLY BOOGIE includes a 32-page booklet featuring photos, extensive liner notes, and a discography.
Johnny Burnette Trio: Johnny Burnette (vocals, guitar); Dorsey Burnette (vocals, bass); Paul Burlison (guitar).
Additional personnel includes: Thomas Grady Martin (guitar); Owen Bradley (piano); Eddie Gray, Murray M. "Buddy" Harman, Jr. (drums); Anita Kerr Singers (background vocals).
Reissue producer: Richard Weize
Recorded at Pythian Temple, New York and Bradley Studio, Nashville, Tennessee, between 1956 and 1957. Includes liner notes by Colin Escott.
A more or less complete collection of the tracks the Trio recorded during its brief (1956-57) career, this is rockabilly at its purest and, thanks to Johnny Burnette's over-the-top singing and genius guitarist Paul Burlison's innovative fretwork, its most menacing sounding. Although none of these songs was a national hit at the time, many of them--"Train Kept a Rollin'," "Lonesome Train on a Lonesome Track," "All By Myself," and, of course, the title track--functioned as the playbook for the late-'70s/early-'80s rockabilly revival spearheaded by Robert Gordon and (later) the Stray Cats. The occasional pop misfire notwithstanding--"I Love You So" is encumbered with a sappy 32-piece orchestra and cornball angelic choir--this stuff is still thrillingly loud, fast, and out of control.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 31 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rockabilly Started RIGHT HERE Music Lover: from FRESNO, CA US -- March, 17, 2009

Legend says: ROCKY and BILLY MUSIC... Yes, music that Johnny and Dorsey played for their sons ROCKY and BILLY BURNETTE...or so the legend goes...thus the name of the genre ROCK A BILLY MUSIC...nice story...but THIS IS WHERE ROCKABILLY CAME TO A PINNACLE....yes the tip of the iceberg...THIS IS trust me...THE BEST ROCKABILLY ALBUM of all time...JOHNNY BURNETTE, PAUL BURLISON, and Bill Black.

Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 25,885
  • UPC: 4000127154743
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)