Paul Davis Paul Davis [1972]

Paul Davis [1972]
Get email alerts for Paul Davis
Sale: $12.58
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $11.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $2.63 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 7 copies left
sku:  Y7AS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 13, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Wounded Bird Records


  • 1.What Would We Do Without Music
  • 2.Love Don't Come Easy
  • 3.Boogie Woogie Man
  • 4.Let Me Be the One
  • 5.Simple Man
  • 6.One Night Lovers
  • 7.Broken Hearted and Free
  • 8.Keep Our Love Alive
  • 9.Dream of a Dreamer
  • 10.Johnny Poverty
  • 11.Gotta Find My Way Back
  • 12.Come On Honey
  • 13.Missing You - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Can't You [Single Version]
  • 15.Gonna Keep On Livin' You [Single Version-Mono]
  • 16.Livin' On Your Love [Single Version-Mono]
  • 17.Keep Our Love Alive [Single Version]
  • 18.I Got a Yearning [Single Version]
  • 19.Burnin' for You Baby - (previously unreleased)
  • 20.You're Still New to Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 21.All Through the Night - (previously unreleased)
  • 22.Paul Davis Radio Spot

Product Description:

Building upon the warm soft rock of Singer of Songs -- Teller of Tales, Paul Davis delivered his smoothest record with his eponymous 1980 LP. The tempo may get kicked up a notch once every side -- in a tongue-in-cheek fashion on "Too Slow to Disco," in a serious way on "So True" -- but those moments bear none of the blues-boogie that still popped up on Singer of Songs; they're just palette-cleansers to prepare listeners for the next mellow molasses ballad. As the '70s gave way to the '80s, Davis did this sound better than almost anyone else, and Paul Davis is a sustained piece of soothing soft rock, to the extent that the overall mood matters more than the individual songs. The easy elegance of "Do Right" -- the opening song here and one of Davis' best-ever tunes -- suggests otherwise, but as the album rolls on what sticks is not the melodies but the atmosphere, which is welcoming and amiable, thanks to how Davis breathes life into these glossy, immaculate surfaces with his easy, friendly style. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 664140022621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)