Lothar And The Hand People Presenting...Lothar and The Hand People

Presenting...Lothar and The Hand People
Get email alerts for Lothar And The Hand People
8 ratings
WINTER SALE: $7.32 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.67 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
14 copies available
sku:  ECE5
Brand New
Related products:
Spirit for $5.97

CD Details

  • Released: March 23, 2010
  • Originally Released: 1968
  • Label: Micro Werks

Entertainment Reviews:

Alternative Press - 1/00, pp.94-5
"One of many eccentrics who represented the kooky, accessible face of the late '60s psychedelic underground....will charm the paisley shirt off any Elephant 6 aficionado..."


  • 1.Machines
  • 2.This Is It
  • 3.This May Be Goodbye
  • 4.That's Another Story
  • 5.Kids Are Little People
  • 6.Ha (Ho)
  • 7.Sex and Violence
  • 8.Bye Bye Love
  • 9.Milkweed Love
  • 10.You Won't Be Lonely
  • 11.The Woody Woodpecker Song
  • 12.It Comes On Anyhow
  • 13.Paul, In Love
  • 14.Rose Colored Glasses
  • 15.Nobody Knows
  • 16.The Music Never Stops

Product Description:

Lothar & The Hand People: John Emelin (vocals, Theremin); Kim King (guitar, Moog synthesizer, tapes); Paul Conly (keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Rusty Ford (electric bass); Tom Flye (percussion).
Recorded at Centaur Studios, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by Dan Burr.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: John Emelin (vocals, Theremin); Kim King (guitar, Moog synthesizer); Paul Conly (keyboards, Moog synthesizer); Rusty Ford (electric bass); Tom Flye (percussion).
Audio Remasterer: Jerry Peterson .
Liner Note Author: Jim Allen .
A true product of their times, Lothar & The Hand People emerged in the late '60s, only to disappear a few years later. This, their debut album, fully tells the story of the band as Lothar & The Hand People mix folk-rock with psychedelia. It's all done in a manner that decades later sounds less revolutionary than quaint, but it's just this kind of quaintness that lends this album its enduring charm.
Songs like "That's Another Story" show the band's New York City coffeehouse roots. Lothar & The Hand People shift from sounding a bit like the Lovin' Spoonful or the Youngbloods on some tracks, to sounding like a gentler version of Devo (as on "Kids Are Little People") on others. The "Lothar" in the band's name refers to the theremin they'd use on some of the songs. When reissued on compact disc, six additional songs--originally the A- and B-sides of their first three singles--were added.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 813411010632
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)