George Winston Ballads and Blues 1972: The Early Recordings

Get email alerts for George Winston
Price: $16.30
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $0.68 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  72HCX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 14, 2020
  • Originally Released: 2020
  • Label: Valley

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.87
"[The disc] provides an entertaining look at the early development of one of America's most beloved instrumentalists."


  • 1.Highway Hymn Blues
  • 2.Song
  • 3.Go Way From My Window
  • 4.Woods East of Deland, The (To Megan Corwin)
  • 5.Brenda's Blues
  • 6.Miles City Train
  • 7.New Hope Blues
  • 8.Theme for a Futuristic Movie
  • 9.Rag [To Guitarists John Creger & Carl Wyant]
  • 10.[Untitled]
  • 11.Blues in G
  • 12.You Don't Love Me
  • 13.Elclain's Grandmothers Rag
  • 14.Variations on Song for Kurt
  • 15.Bright Light Waltz

Product Description:

Solo performer: George Winston (piano).
Producers: John Fahey, Doug Decker, George Winston.
Recorded at United Recording, Los Angeles, California in November 1972 and June 1973. Originally released on Takoma (R-9016) as PIANO SOLOS.
All songs written by George Winston except "Go 'Way From My Window" (traditional), "Brenda's Blues" (John Fahey) and "Theme For A Futuristic Movie" (Michael S. Roth).
Audio Remasterers: Howard Johnston; Bernie Grudman.
Photographer: Frans Lanting.
George Winston's significant contributions to the genres of new age, ambient, and contemporary instrumental stretch back to 1972. Winston's first album BALLADS & BLUES was released in that year, and while it lacks the cohesive mood of later albums like December, it represents the artist as a serious stylist with a penchant for atmosphere and variety. Winston dabbles in blues and ragtime, as well as his more familiar stately ballads, and his command of the instrument and facility for creating ambiance (enhanced here by the production of guitar legend John Fahey) is immediately appealing.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 618321529324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)