T. Rex 20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection

20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection
Get email alerts for T. Rex
41 ratings
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.65 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  Y9H9
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 20, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/19/02, p.110
4 stars out of 5 - "...Bolan's singing, songwriting and stinging guitar prove why his band inspired everyone from Bowie to the Ramones."


  • 1.Debora
  • 2.One Inch Rock
  • 3.King of the Rumbling Spires
  • 4.By the Light of the Magical Moon
  • 5.Elemental Child
  • 6.Ride a White Swan
  • 7.Summertime Blues
  • 8.Jewel
  • 9.Beltane Walk
  • 10.Hot Love
  • 11.Bang a Gong (Get It On)
  • 12.Raw Ramp
  • 13.Cosmic Dancer
  • 14.Jeepster
  • 15.Telegram Sam
  • 16.Metal Guru
  • 17.Mystic Lady
  • 18.The Slider
  • 19.Children of the Revolution
  • 20.Solid Gold Easy Action
  • 21.Born to Boogie
  • 22.20th Century Boy
  • 23.I Love to Boogie

Product Description:

Personnel: Marc Bolan (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, harmonium, organ, bass); Steve Peregrino Took (kazoo, piano, bass, drums, bongos, percussion, gong, background vocals); Ian McDonald (saxophone); Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Dino Dines (keyboards); Mickey Finn (bass, drums, tabla, percussion, background vocals); Steve Currie (bass); Davey Lutton, Willie Legend (drums); Flo & Eddie, Vicky Brown, Barry St. John (background vocals).
Producers: Tony Visconti, Marc Bolan.
Compilation producer: Bill Levenson.
Recorded between 1968 & 1976. Includes liner notes by Dave Thompson.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, fiddle, harmonica, harmonium); Ian McDonald (saxophone); Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Dino Dines (keyboards); Will Legend, Dave Lutton (drums); Mickey Finn (clay drum, tabla, percussion, background vocals); Victoria "Vicky B" Brown, Sue & Sunny, Howard Kaylan, Mark Volman, Barry St. John (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Dave Thompson .
Marc Bolan & T. Rex never troubled the pop culture radar in the US beyond one minor hit single, making them perhaps the biggest UK stars to never leave any significant stateside impression. As a result, their catalogue has rarely been properly served by US labels, with the songs that made Bolan's name remaining out of print for years at a time while UK labels large and small released every tiny scrap of rehearsal tape, often multiple times.
After Mitsubishi Motors used the stomping "20th Century Boy" in an ad campaign (somewhat ghoulishly, considering that Bolan was killed in an auto accident) in 2002, Universal's Hip-O reissue imprint took the opportunity to rectify the poor state of Bolan's catalogue with the solidly impressive 20TH CENTURY BOY: THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION. Thoughtfully, the set starts with five tracks from Bolan's lesser-known early psychedelic period as Tyrannosaurus Rex, including the spectacularly weird "King of the Rumbling Spires," before laying out the classic string of '70s glam-rock boogie hits ("Bang a Gong [Get It On]") and a few choice B-sides. For those wanting to stick to a single T. Rex disc, this is the one to choose.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,172
  • UPC: 731458494829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)