Gypsy Swing
Sale: $5.98
WINTER SALE: $4.78 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $10.20 (68% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  ZHUS 1924
Brand New

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: May 31, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Arc Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.84
"Reinhardt, who seems equally at ease on guitar and violin, is accompanied by two guitarists and a double bass player."


  • 1.Shine
  • 2.Minor Swing
  • 3.Autumn Leaves
  • 4.Fly Me to the Moon
  • 5.Fascinating Rhythm
  • 6.It Had to Be You
  • 7.There Is No Greater Love
  • 8.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 9.Beautiful Love
  • 10.My One and Only Love
  • 11.Night and Day
  • 12.Pent-Up House
  • 13.Tears

Product Description:

Personnel: Ismael Reinhardt (vocals, guitar); Jean Luc Miotti (double bass).
Liner Note Authors: Diz Heller; Ismael Reinhardt.
Recording information: Danza Fuego Produktion, Sandhausen, Germany.
Arranger: Ismael Reinhardt.
Somewhere down the Reinhardt lineage Ismael was born. While certainly not known particularly well outside Europe, and even in Europe known mostly for being a descendant of the great Django Reinhardt, Ismael has some chops on the guitar and gets to show them off here. His real forte is in contemporary jazz, but for the sake of a tribute, this album is built from the gypsy jazz era into the swing era and sing era of Sinatra and the like (with a stray bop number thrown in for good measure). Reinhardt takes the duties of both Django and Stephane Grappelli in the re-creations of the old Hot Club numbers, holding guitar and violin equally well. Session players from the European jazz scene fill in the rest of the stringed roster. On the old gypsy swing classics and related pieces he shines. On the sing-era numbers, despite an avowed love for Sinatra, the instrumentation doesn't translate as well. On the Sonny Rollins classic "Pent-Up House," he sounds even more rushed and disjointed than the composition calls for. It's a decent album, but one to be viewed as a contemporary jazz guitarist taking on classics for the sake of history rather than experience. ~ Adam Greenberg
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 72,587
  • UPC: 743037192422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)