Styx The Complete Wooden Nickel Recordings (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Styx
52 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.20 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $8.79 (52% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  Y9AD
Brand New
Related products:
Styx: Cornerstone for $13.60
Styx: Crystal Ball for $11.90

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 15, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Movement for the Common Man: Children of the Land / Street ...: Chlidren Of The Land / Fanfare For The Common Man / Street Collage / Mother Nature's Matinee
  • 2.Right Away
  • 3.What Has Come Between Us
  • 4.Best Thing
  • 5.Quick Is the Beat of My Heart
  • 6.After You Leave Me
  • 7.You Need Love
  • 8.Lady
  • 9.A Day
  • 10.You Better Ask
  • 11.Little Fugue in "G"
  • 12.Father O.S.A.
  • 13.Earl of Roseland
  • 14.I'm Gonna Make You Feel It
  • 15.Unfinished Song

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Witch Wolf
  • 2.The Grove of Eglatine
  • 3.Young Man
  • 4.As Bad as This
  • 5.Winner Takes All
  • 6.22 Years
  • 7.Jonas Psalter
  • 8.The Serpent Is Rising
  • 9.Krakatoa
  • 10.Hallelujah Chorus
  • 11.Rock & Roll Feeling
  • 12.Havin' a Ball
  • 13.Golden Lark
  • 14.A Song for Suzanne
  • 15.A Man Like Me
  • 16.Lies
  • 17.Evil Eyes
  • 18.Southern Woman
  • 19.Christopher, Mr. Christopher
  • 20.Man of Miracles

Product Description:

Personnel: John Curulewski (vocals, guitar, synthesizer); James "Jockey" Young, James Young (vocals, guitar); Dennis DeYoung (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer); Chuck Panozzo (vocals, bass guitar); John Panozzo (vocals, drums, percussion); Bill Traut (saxophone).
Audio Mixers: John Ryan ; Barry Mraz.
Liner Note Author: Martin Huxley.
Recording information: Golden Voice Studios, South Pekin, IL; Paragon Recording Studios, Chicago, IL.
Photographers: Murray Laden; Dave Hecht.
Arranger: Barry Fasman.
Though Styx became known as purveyors of seamless AOR power ballads in the late 1970s, few recall that they spent the early part of that decade working a grittier, more complex format. Before
singer/songwriter/guitarist Tommy Shaw arrived to aid Styx in their
pursuit of the mainstream, they released four albums on indie label
Wooden Nickel between 1972 and 1974. With original guitarist John
Curulewski still on board, Styx had a harder edge and a more eclectic
sound. Those four albums are neatly compiled here on two discs.
The stylistic spectrum traversed therein encompasses prog-rock epics,
Lynyrd Skynyrd-like blues-rockers, classical flourishes, metal-tinged
hard rock, and even the occasional touch of jazz fusion. Of course, the
hook-heavy songwriting and spotless vocal harmonies that would later
make Styx superstars are present throughout, as is the early sleeper hit
"Lady," a foreshadowing of things to come. For those who think the story
of Styx began with "Come Sail Away," THE COMPLETE WOODEN NICKEL RECORDINGS will be an education.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,757
  • UPC: 075021034310
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)