COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Pixies Wave Of Mutilation: Best Of Pixies (2-LPs)

Q: 5 stars out of 5 - "Their records offer mischief and surrealism and bursts of sexed-up joie de vivre....They were simultaneously crazy and compassionate."
Wave Of Mutilation: Best Of Pixies (2-LPs)
Get email alerts for Pixies
55 ratings
SALE: $23.95
List Price: $26.98
You Save: $3.03 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP  (2 Records)
sku:  4AD 724061
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 2
  • Released: January 12, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: 4AD Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.106
"[T]here is a career-spanning clutch of songs that you want - need - to play over and over again....All are here, on one handy disc..."
Q - p.112
5 stars out of 5 - "Their records offer mischief and surrealism and bursts of sexed-up joie de vivre....They were simultaneously crazy and compassionate."
Uncut - p.102
5 stars out of 5 - "[T]hese ripples on the surface of silence are strictly beautiful...the tracks are framed by theory rather than antic wit."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bone Machine
  • 2.Nimrod's Son
  • 3.The Holiday Song
  • 4.Caribou
  • 5.Broken Face
  • 6.Gigantic
  • 7.Vamos
  • 8.Hey
  • 9.Monkey Gone To Heaven
  • 10.Debaser
  • 11.Gouge Away
  • 12.Wave of Mutilation

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Here Comes Your Man
  • 2.Tame
  • 3.Where is My Mind
  • 4.Into the White
  • 5.Velouria
  • 6.Allison
  • 7.Dig For Fire
  • 8.U - Mass
  • 9.Alec Eiffel
  • 10.Planet of Sound
  • 11.Winterlong

Product Description:

Pixies: Black Francis (vocals, guitar); Kim Deal (vocals, bass); Joey Santiago (guitar); David Lovering (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Eric Drew Feldman (keyboards, synthesizer).
Producers: Gary Smith, Steve Albini, Gil Norton, Pixies.
Recorded between 1987 & 1991.
One of the most revered college-radio bands of the late 1980s and early '90s, Pixies combined smart yet surreal pop with jagged, punk-influenced rock and, oddly enough, broke up just as the alternative music scene went mainstream. Fueled by Black Francis's oft-maniacal vocals and bizarrely catchy songs, the Boston-based quartet--rounded out by bassist/vocalist Kim Deal, guitarist Joey Santiago, and drummer David Lovering--consistently crafted fascinating albums during their brief but headstrong run. This 23-track collection, released in tandem with their highly anticipated 2004 reunion tour, captures many of their finest moments.
Proceeding semi-chronologically, WAVE OF MUTILATION begins with the rambunctious ditty "Bone Machine." Other early gems include the strange anthem "Holiday Song," the anthropomorphic ode "Caribou," and Deal's signature song, "Gigantic." The band's beloved 1989 album, DOOLITTLE, is amply represented by seven songs, including the pleading "Hey," the mischievous "Monkey Gone to Heaven," the fierce "Debaser," and the pop-perfect "Here Comes Your Man." Latter-day tunes include rockers such as "Dig for Fire," "Alec Eiffel," and "Planet of Sound," along with two B-sides, "Into the White" and an excellent cover of Neil Young's "Winterlong." If you're looking for the Pixies motherlode, this is it.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,354
  • UPC: 652637240610
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)