Yanni Live at the Acropolis [Bonus Track]

Get email alerts for Yanni
Price: $10
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  6KCX5
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 15, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Sony Bmg Europe


  • 1.Santorini
  • 2.Keys to Imagination
  • 3.Until the Last Moment
  • 4.The Rain Must Fall
  • 5.Acroyali / Standing in Motion (Medley)
  • 6.One Man's Dream
  • 7.Within Attraction
  • 8.Nostalgia
  • 9.Swept Away
  • 10.Reflections of Passion
  • 11.Aria

Product Description:

LIVE AT THE ACROPOLIS is available in CD and DVD versions in the boxed set YANNI: THE PRIVATE YEARS, which also includes the CDs IN MY TIME, REFLECTIONS OF PASSION, IN CELEBRATION OF LIFE and DARE TO DREAM.
Personnel includes: Yanni (piano, keyboards); Shardad Rohani (conductor, violin); Karen Briggs (violin); Julie Homi, Bradley Joseph (keyboards); Ric Fierabracci (bass); Charlie Adams (drums); Michael "Kalani" Bruno (percussion).
Recorded live at the Herod Atticus Theatre, Athens, Greece on September 25, 1993.
Personnel includes: Yanni, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Recorded live at the Acropolis in Athens, Greece on September 24th, 1993.
Includes backstage footage and interviews with Yanni.
Personnel: Karen Briggs , Shardad Rohani (violin); Julie Homi, Bradley Joseph (keyboards); Michael Bruno (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Yanni.
Recording information: Herod Atticus Theatre, Atrhens, Greece (09/25/1993).
Photographer: Lynn Goldsmith.
Yanni has enjoyed sensational success over the past several years with his lush, densely layered, new age orchestrations. But the Greek keyboardist/composer's overtly romantic musings achieve a bold new dimension when augmented by a full symphony orchestra, and some of the more rhythmic elements in his music, previously masked under a wall of synthesizers, come to the fore--and the resulting music is much closer to progressive rock (and his own native roots) than new age.
Thus we have distinctly Greek rhythmic cycles (in seven) keying the variations on the opening "Santorini" and "Keys To The Imagination," richly colored by percussion fanfares and instrumental breaks--demonstrating that the breadth of Yanni's music and his interest in popular forms is greater than many of his diehard fans have grown to expect. And on an arrangement like "The Rain Must Fall," Yanni frames his boleroesque piano shadings against a mysterious backbeat and fretless bass, which soon develops into--of all things--an R&B-styled slap bass groove.
But those fans drawn to the purely lyric side of Yanni's art won't be disappointed by the composer's programming on YANNI LIVE AT THE ACROPOLIS. Such keyboard-inflected fantasias as "Reflections Of Passion," "One Man's Dream" and "Until The Last Moment" illustrate Yanni's sentimental yearnings, while the Oriental flourishes of "Swept Away" demonstrate why he's achieved such an immense following among adult contemporary listeners.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 50,588
  • UPC: 010058212225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)