The Rolling Stones Steel Wheels

Rolling Stone: Ranked #87 in Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest LPs Of The 80s" survey.
Get email alerts for The Rolling Stones
72 ratings
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.38 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  YAJR
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 26, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: UMVD Labels

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
Ranked #87 in Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest LPs Of The 80s" survey.
4 Stars - Excellent
Record Collector (magazine) - p.92
3 stars out of 5 -- "'Almost Hear You Sigh' holds its own in the lachrymose school of balladry that brought us 'Angie' and 'Fool To Cry.'"


  • 1.Sad Sad Sad
  • 2.Mixed Emotions
  • 3.Terrifying
  • 4.Hold On To Your Hat
  • 5.Hearts For Sale
  • 6.Blinded By Love
  • 7.Rock And A Hard Place
  • 8.Can't Be Seen
  • 9.Almost Hear You Sigh
  • 10.Continental Drift
  • 11.Break The Spell
  • 12.Slipping Away

Product Description:

The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards, percussion); Keith Richards (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Ron Wood (guitar, dobro, acoustic & electric basses, background vocals); Bill Wyman (bass); Charlie Watts (drums).
Additional personnel: Bachir Attar Farafina (various instruments); Phil Beer (mandolin, fiddle); Matt Clifford (strings, piano, electric piano, harmonium, clavinet, keyboards); Kick Horns (brass); Chuck Leavell (piano, organ, Wurlitzer piano, keyboards); Luis Jardin (percussion); Sonia Morgan, Bernard Fowler, Sarah Dash, Lisa Fischer, Tessa Niles (background vocals); Master Musicians Of Jajouka.
Recorded at Air Studios, Montserrat.
Digitally remastered by Bob Ludwig (Gateway Mastering Studios).
Personnel: Keith Richards (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, classical guitar, sound effects, background vocals); Mick Jagger (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards, shaker, background vocals); Ron Wood (guitar, bass guitar, background vocals); Phil Beer (mandolin, fiddle); Matt Clifford (strings, piano, electric piano, harmonium, Clavinet, keyboards, percussion programming); Roddy Corimer (trumpet, brass); The Kick Horns (brass, horns); Simon Clarke, Tim Sanders, Paul Spong (brass); Chuck Leavell (piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Bill Wyman (bass guitar); Charlie Watts (drums); Louis Jardine, Luis Jardim (percussion); Lisa Fischer, Sarah Dash, Bernard Fowler (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Chris Kimsey; Christopher Marc Potter ; Michael Brauer.
Recording information: Air Studios, Montserrat.
Photographer: Enrique Badulescu.
Arrangers: Matt Clifford; Mick Jagger.
20-plus years after "Satisfaction" the Rolling Stones were still at it, pumping out gritty rock and roll and playing to huge, adoring crowds. Later records sound fuller, the production a bit cleaner, but the Stones still sound like the Stones. STEEL WHEELS, released in 1989, was the first studio album by the band since 1986's DIRTY WORK. Mick Jagger and Keith Richards had put out solo records in 1987 and 1988 respectively, and the reformed band got back into the studio for a record they would launch a massive world tour to support. It was the last studio effort upon which original bassist Bill Wyman would play.
The album yielded two strong singles, "Mixed Emotions," which is buoyed by one of the stronger choruses of late-era Stones, and the nasty rocker "Rock and a Hard Place." Beginning with the line "The fields of Eden are full of trash," the song seems a genuine gesture of empathy for victims of a callous world. "Continental Drift" is the album's most unusual track, a powerful, Middle-Eastern-tinged number with "African instruments" played by the legendary Master Musicians of Jajouka. On the country-flavored "Blinded By Love," the Stones' show their long-standing appreciation for rootsy American music.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 43,622
  • UPC: 602527015675
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)