Bob Dylan Volume 3

Rolling Stone: 3.5 Stars (out of 5) - "...If the collection is debatable as a hits's nonetheless classic Dylan..."
Get email alerts for Bob Dylan
41 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $5.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $1.90 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  YC23
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 15, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/4/95, pp.63-65
3.5 Stars (out of 5) - "...If the collection is debatable as a hits's nonetheless classic Dylan..."
Q - 1/95, p.265
3 Stars (out of 10) - "...these days he's merely a legend and nobody expects that much of legends...[but] there's plenty of things to relish here--Dylan's ability to come up with a new soundscape for every session..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 1/95, p.105
"...The famous tracks need no further comment. They are all, of course, rather more than this collection shows, [Dylan] still chases a kind of vision that most of his contemporaries gave up believing in years ago."
NME (Magazine) - 12/3/94, p.43
7 (out of 10) - "...These [songs] will remind you that Bob Dylan is human too..."


  • 1.Tangled Up In Blue
  • 2.Changing of the Guards
  • 3.The Groom's Still Waiting At the Altar
  • 4.Hurricane
  • 5.Forever Young
  • 6.Jokerman
  • 7.Dignity - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.Silvio
  • 9.Ring Them Bells
  • 10.Gotta Serve Somebody
  • 11.Series of Dreams
  • 12.Brownsville Girl
  • 13.Under the Red Sky
  • 14.Knockin' On Heaven's Door

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Bob Dylan (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Ronee Blakely (vocals); Brendan O'Brien (guitar, bass, background vocals); Mason Ruffner, Danny Kortchmar (guitar); Scarlet Rivera (violin); Steve Douglas (saxophone); Alan Clark (piano, organ); Barry Beckett (keyboards, percussion); Benmont Tench (keyboards); Nathan East (bass); Jim Keltner, Pick Withers, Kenny Aronoff (drums); Cyril Neville (talking drum); Waddy Wachtel, Al Kooper, Roger McGuinn, Don Was, Brent Mydland.
Producers include: Don Devito, Bob Dylan, Chuck Plotkin, Mark Knopfler.
Photographer: Randee St. Nicholas.
What could the poet, who has been called the spokesman of his generation, possibly have to offer on a third greatest-hits compilation?
Quite a lot, and by listening to these selections you realize the depth of Bob Dylan's musical inventory. This eclectic, quirky collection provides his best literate epics ("Brownsville," written with Sam Shepard), enigmatic gems ("Tangled Up In Blue" from the brilliant BLOOD ON THE TRACKS), masterful gospel classics (STREET LEGAL's "Changing Of The Guard"), effective political narratives ("Hurricane") and timeless pop classics ("Forever Young" and "Knockin' On Heaven's Door"). For the most part, these rock, folk, gospel and blues cuts are selected from less celebrated albums like OH MERCY, DOWN IN THE GROOVE and KNOCKED OUT LOADED. They should serve as entreaties to return to those overlooked treasures.
With all this album's pedigree, the unlikely show-stopper is the previously unreleased "Dignity"--it causes one to pause and note the continuing awesomeness of Dylan's craft and limitless lyrical talent. This album serves as a lesson to all aspiring singer-songwriters. GREATEST HITS, VOLUME 3, indeed--from an artist whose every song is complex perfection.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 52,902
  • UPC: 886977276828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)