Meat Loaf Bat Out of Hell III: The Monster Is Loose

Q: Ranked #84 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006."
Get email alerts for Meat Loaf
173 ratings
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.38 (3% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  EK27
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 31, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Virgin Records Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - p.140
4 stars out of 5 -- "THE MONSTER IS LOOSE is overblown, frequently ridiculous and largely devoid of irony....The album works best when the big guy is at his most operatic."
Q - p.117
Ranked #84 in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums of 2006."


  • 1.The Monster Is Loose
  • 2.Blind as a Bat
  • 3.It's All Coming Back to Me Now
  • 4.Bad For Good
  • 5.Cry Over Me
  • 6.In the Land of the Pig, The Butcher Is King
  • 7.Monstro
  • 8.Alive
  • 9.If God Could Talk
  • 10.If It Ain't Broke Break It
  • 11.What About Love
  • 12.Seize the Night
  • 13.The Future Ain't What It Used to Be
  • 14.Cry to Heaven

Product Description:

Personnel: Meat Loaf (vocals); Marion Raven (vocals); Graham Phillips (soprano); Dan Warner, Clint Walsh, Paul Crook , John Shanks, Rusty Anderson, David Levita, Randy Flowers (guitar); Eric Sardinas (slide guitar); Stephanie Bennett (harp); Alyssa Park, John Wittenberg, Philip Vaiman, Ken Yerke, Michele Richards, Mario de Le¢n, Joel Derouin, Sid Page, Roberto Cani, Bruce Dukov, Peter Kent, Natalie Leggett, Darius Campo, Josefina Vergara, Berj Garabedian, Endre Granat, Tereza Stanislav, Haim Shtrum (violin); Matthew Funes , Marda Todd, Brian Dembow, Evan Wilson, Denyse Buffum, Andrew Duckles (viola); Daniel Smith, Suzie Katayama, Larry Corbett, Steve Richards (cello); Earl Dumler (oboe); Tom Saviano (tenor saxophone); Chuck Findley, Gary Grant, Jon Lewis , Rick Baptist, Steve Madaio, Wayne Bergeron, John Fumo (trumpet); John A. Reynolds , Steven Becknell, Joe Meyer , Brad Warnaar (French horn); William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. (trombone, bass trombone); Steven Holtman, Alan Kaplan (trombone); Kasim Sulton (bass guitar, background vocals); John Miceli (drums); Lee Levin (percussion); Chris Vrenna , Doug Emery, Harry "Slick" Sommerdahl, Holly Knight, Randy Cantor (programming); Eric Troyer, Storm Lee, John Gregory, Camille Saviola, Carolyn Caletti Jablonski "CC", Keely Pressly, Brett Cullen, James Michael, Diana Grasselli, Maria Vidal, Marti Frederiksen, Andreas Carlsson, Becky Baeling, Jeanette Olsson, Patti Russo, Jason Paige (background vocals); Corky James, Eric Bazilian, Steve Vai, Brian May, John 5 (guitar); Matt Rollings, Mark Alexander (piano, organ); Kenny Aronoff (drums, percussion); Victor Indrizzo (drums); Desmond Child, Todd Rundgren (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Greg Collins .
Recording information: Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA; Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Ocean Way Studios; O'Henry Sound STudios; The Gentlemen's Club; The Mothership; The Village, Los Angeles, CA; The Wire.
Photographer: Timothy White .
Arranger: Todd Rundgren.
Nearly three decades after 1977's BAT OUT OF HELL, and 13 years after its sequel, BACK INTO HELL, Meat Loaf unleashed BAT OUT OF HELL III: THE MONSTER IS LOOSE. While the album was reportedly bogged down in legal disputes between the drama-loving rock performer (aka Marvin "Michael" Aday) and songwriter Jim Steinman, the longtime collaborators apparently patched things up in time for its release on Halloween of 2006. Also assisting Meat Loaf on this typically bold and wonderfully bombastic outing are Todd Rundgren (on vocal arrangements only) and producer Desmond Child, along with a slew of guests including Rob Zombie guitarist John 5 (the uncharacteristically heavy title track) and virtuoso hard-rock six-stringer Steve Vai (the fierce "In the Land of the Pig, the Butcher Is King"). This being a BAT OUT OF HELL installment, of course, there's room for a heart-wrenching duet (with newcomer Marion Raven) on "It's All Coming Back to Me Now" (famously recorded by Celine Dion first) and grandiose pop-tinged rock on "Bad for Good," which benefits from the unmistakable guitar riffs of Queen's Brian May. If it seems like a lot stuffed into one album, it is, and that's exactly what makes THE MONSTER IS LOOSE a top-notch Meat Loaf record.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 094636314723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)