10,000 Maniacs Campfire Songs: The Popular, Obscure & Unknown Recordings (2-CD)

Campfire Songs: The Popular, Obscure & Unknown
Get email alerts for 10,000 Maniacs
34 ratings
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YEAJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 27, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/23/04, p.101
"10,000 Maniacs' literate folk-pop sounds better now than it did in their late-'80s heyday." - Rating: B+
Q - 4/04, p.128
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]hey possessed a capacity to beguile that had listeners convinced, temporarily at least, the world was indeed pastel-hued."
Dirty Linen - p.45
"[Their] early work blended bristling-punkish electric guitar work with Merchant's sometimes dreamy, sometimes intense vocal magic..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Planned Obsolescene
  • 2.My Mother The War
  • 3.Tension
  • 4.Scorpio Rising
  • 5.Like The Weather
  • 6.Don't Talk
  • 7.What's The Matter Here?
  • 8.Hey Jack Kerouac
  • 9.Verdi Cries
  • 10.Trouble Me
  • 11.Poison In The Well
  • 12.You Happy Puppet
  • 13.Eat For Two
  • 14.Stockton Gala Days
  • 15.Candy Everybody Wants
  • 16.These Are Days
  • 17.Because The Night

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Poppy Selling Man - (previously unreleased)
  • 2.Can't Ignore The Train - (demo)
  • 3.Peace Train
  • 4.Wildwood Flower
  • 5.Hello In There
  • 6.To Sir, With Love
  • 7.Everyday Is Like Sunday
  • 8.These Days
  • 9.I Hope That I Don't Fall In Love With You
  • 10.Starman
  • 11.Let The Mystery Be - (with David Byrne)
  • 12.Noah's Dove - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 13.Circle Dream - (previously unreleased, alternate lyrics demo)
  • 14.Eden - (previously unreleased, alternate lyrics demo)

Product Description:

Includes five previously unreleased tracks.
10,000 Maniacs: Natalie Merchant (vocals, piano); Robert Buck (guitar, banjo, mandolin, synthesizer); John Lombardo (guitar, bass, background vocals); Steven Gustafson (guitar, bass); Dennis Drew (accordion, piano, organ); Jerome Augustyniak (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Michael Stipe, David Byrne (vocals); Don Grolnick (piano); Paulinho DaCosta (percussion).
Producers include: 10,000 Maniacs, Bill Waldman, Albert Garzon, Joe Boyd, Peter Asher.
Compilation producers: 10,000 Maniacs, Natalie Merchant.
Recorded between 1982 & 1993. Includes liner notes by Anthony DeCurtis.
Personnel: John Lombardo (vocals, guitar); Natalie Merchant (vocals, piano); Robert Buck (guitar, banjo, mandolin, synthesizer); Steve Gustafson (guitar); Bill Dillon (acoustic guitar, slide guitar, mandolin); Richie Stearns (banjo); Mary Ramsey (violin, viola, background vocals); Morgan Fichter (violin, background vocals); Ralph Morrison III, Bruce Dukov (violin); Pamela Goldsmith, Novi (viola); Dennis Karmazyn, Jane Scarpantoni, Larry Corbett (cello); Dennis Drew (accordion, piano, organ); Kim Laskowski, Atsuko Sato (bassoon); Maceo Parker (alto saxophone); Pee Wee Ellis (tenor saxophone); Fred Wesley (trombone); Amanda Kramer (piano, pump organ); Don Grolnick (piano); Jerome Augustyniak (drums, percussion); Jim Foti (drums); Jerry Marotta, Paulinho Da Costa (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Ed Thacker; Frank Filipetti; Frank Wolf; George Massenburg.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Audio Remixer: Joe Barbaria.
Liner Note Authors: Dennis Drew; Jerome Augustyniak; John Lombardo; Natalie Merchant; Steve Gustafson; Anthony DeCurtis; Steve Woolard.
Photographers: Pam Taylor; Laura Lavine; Rob Marinissen; Ebet Roberts; Jo‚lle Dep¢nt; Andrew Catlin; Natalie Merchant.
Arranger: Paul Buckmaster.
Spanning 31 songs and two discs, one covering "The Most Popular Recordings" (aka "The Hits") and one covering "The Obscure & Unknown Recordings" (aka "The B-Sides and Cover Versions"), Rhino/Elektra's 2004 compilation Campfire Songs: The Popular, Obscure & Unknown Recordings of 10,000 Maniacs is as good a career overview as could be assembled. The hits disc may miss a minor charting single like "Few and Far Between," but it has all the songs of note, from the hits to album tracks. Meanwhile, the rarities are devoted pretty much to B-side covers in addition to four previously unreleased demos, the early outtake "Poppy Selling Man," plus their cover of Cat Stevens' "Peace Train," which was removed from latter-day editions of In My Tribe. There's enjoyable stuff on both discs -- the singles "Like the Weather," "What's the Matter Here?," "Trouble Me," "Candy Everybody Wants," and "These Are Days" are very good indeed, laying the groundwork for adult alternative pop/rock, while the early demos on the second disc are livelier than most Maniacs material and the Michael Stipe duet on "To Sir With Love" is a priceless artifact from the height of Clinton optimism (which faded quite quickly). But even these moments have the Achilles' heel of a production that is far too big for the group's gentle simple songs. Overall this expertly assembled collection -- which is as good as a 10,000 Maniacs anthology could be -- is best as a time capsule, capturing the earnest, precious optimism and PC nature of American college rock before grunge came along and dirtied everything up. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,763
  • UPC: 081227390020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)